{Getting Past The Setbacks}


{life happens}

 

Last week was a very challenging week, to say the least. Our family went through some unexpected set backs as we went from Road Trip USA to our local hospital. My son was admitted and we spent an entire week stuck in a room watching HGTV and basketball.

There’s so much I learned from this experience…

Life happens…

Okay, so life happens. Are you prepared for it? Sickness, layoffs, changes in schedules… all of these happen all the time. So what does your daily life look like? Are you prepared for those last minute curve balls life throws your way? Are you financially, mentally, physically, and most importantly- spiritually prepared to handle ‘life’?

{Get yourself together}

Spiritually

I learned this past week that when we have spent time in the Presence of God, He prepares us for what is to come. In His amazing grace, love, and care for us, He begins to lead us and guide us in ways that align us for situations we will encounter. Get into the Word. Get into prayer. It is the number one tool you have to prepare yourself for the future seasons of your life.

Financially

Are living day by day? Are you living paycheck to paycheck? Perhaps it’s time to get serious about your life. Perhaps it’s time to grow up and stop handling money immaturely. You know- it’s the “I want it now” syndrome. It’s the way babies act when you walk down the aisle at the supermarket and they see the cherry red lollipop… “I want it, I want it, I want it!!!”

Life happens and when it does, are you prepared to take care of your family? Are you capable, financially, to handle the extra bills or monetary challenges that may arise? God is our provider, Yes. However, we do have a responsibility to steward the money He places in our hands. So what are you doing with your money? Have you made the decision yet to get on the road to {Financial Freedom}?

Mentally

This week, I learned that my time in prayer and God’s word prepared me mentally for the week’s challenge. There’s something about having order in your life that allows you to think through things clearly. Preparing myself spiritually, along with working to maintain order in my home, allowed me to process the challenge at hand in a logical and calm manner.

I recommend that you take the steps necessary to get mental clarity. When our lives are in disarray, it is almost impossible to think clearly and logically. As you begin to put order in all areas of your life, including your home, you will find that mental stress, anxiety, chaos, and confusion will begin to decrease. You will be able to think clearly and will be better prepared to handle setbacks appropriately.

Physically

Okay, so this is where I failed big time. Living a {Healthy Lifestyle} is so on my wish list. Somewhere between the “I want a healthy life” and “I want this cheesecake” is a place of total denial. That’s where I was. Not only had I not kept up with my physical activity and exercise. I wasn’t really eating well either. The inconsistent eating schedule at the hospital along with the lack of sleep resulted in me getting sick too.

There has to be a way of maintaining both physical activity and healthy eating habits so that your body can physically handle things that come up in life. Eh-hem….. I’m still working on this one.

{Getting past the setbacks}

So we were set back a week. I have a week of cleaning to catch up with. A week’s worth of laundry to get done. A week’s work of school work to do with ‘Lem’. But it’s all good. Why? Because I didn’t have much disorder to begin with. One day’s work and I will be back into the swing of things.

This time, I’ll prepare differently. I will prepare myself as best as possible for future situations. I will continue to make spiritual, financial, mental and physical care of my life a priority. I understand that God is sovereign. I understand that there are things that are out of my control. However, I also understand that there are parts of my life which I am solely responsible for. These are the parts that strengthen me for my journey. These are the parts of my life which prepare me to get past the setbacks.

So how about you? How do you prepare for ‘life’? I’d love to hear from you!

Posted on February 20, 2012, in FAMILY LIFE, FINANCES, HEALTHY LIFESTYLE, HOME & ORGANIZATION, LIFE, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

