{Ignoring The Voice Of The Lord?}


If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.

James 4:17 (NIV)

“Obedience is the very best way to show that I believe….”

That’s the song I’ve been singing this week with my Preschooler. I thought I was teaching her something new about obedience. Instead, I found that I was in need of a refresher on obedience.

“Obedience is the very best way to show that I believe. 

Doing exactly what the Lord commands, doing it happily…

Action is key, do it immediately, and joy you will receive…

obedience is the very best way to show that I believe…”

Last night, I was feeling so ‘blah’ which is something that I haven’t gone through in over a year. My husband looked at me and said, “I think you need some ‘alone’ time.” 

What does that mean? Was he trying to help me out or was he trying to get rid of me? hmmm..

Well, turns out he really did want me to have time by myself without the kids yelling or some other thing in the home needing my attention. Finally, I decided to go out to the store. I didn’t really have anything to buy and I didn’t really have extra cash to spend. But I got that little ‘itch’. You know, the one that says to you ‘go out and buy something and you will feel so much better’.

Hmm? A chocolate covered coffee roll? That would be great! Welllllll, it might not be such a great idea, ya’ know. I have Accountability Partners to keep in mind.

Okay, how about a book. I sure love me some books…. Oh yeah, I have a new book I’m reading and three more I just took out from the Library…hmmm. Perhaps buying a new book is not such a great idea.

Alright, how about that Teacher store in town? Lem (that’s what my daughter wants to be called now {smile}), she needs some stuff for schooling. Yeah, that’s what I’ll do. This is a necessity.

So before heading out the door I look at my husband…”um, I don’t have any money in this wallet, where’s that credit card again?”

Now for those of you who are with me on my Journey to Financial Freedom, you all know that debt is a no-no. We are trying to run away from debt not TO debt.

My ‘itch’ to go buy something went against the very things my husband and I have been talking about….no debt.

I get into the car and that stupid song would not get out of my head.

“Obedience is the very best way to show that I believe. 

Doing exactly what the Lord commands, doing it happily…”

I tried to ignore it and I drove to the store anyway. I got there and walked through every single aisle trying to convince myself that my daughter needed something to help her learn her letters… yes, perhaps a SIGHT WORDS game or something.

“Obedience is the very best way to show that I believe. 

Doing exactly what the Lord commands, doing it happily…”

Well friends, let’s just say that when the Lord puts a purpose in your heart, you can try to ignore it. You can try to act like you don’t hear the conviction of the Holy Ghost and you can continue to walk in your mess. The reality of it all is that God does speak. He does lead us and instructs us in the way we should go. And as I’ve taught my Preschooler this week, “Obedience is the very best way to show that I believe”.

I believe that God is sovereign.

I believe that God is the author of my life.

I believe that He sent His Son Jesus to die for my sins and that now that I’ve accepted Him as my Lord and Savior, He is (in fact) Lord over my life.

I believe that Debt-Free day will be a day my family will celebrate.

I believe that God has plans for my life and for my family.

I believe that every decision that I make is a decision sown into my future.

I believe that if I can just submit to God’s plans for my life, I will reap the reward of my sacrifice.

I believe that God is good and He is good over my life.

I believe that God is faithful and trustworthy.

I believe that I can trust His plans for my life.

And so…

Obedience is the very best way to show God that I believe.

I left the store and did not purchase a thing on our credit card. The ‘itch’ was still there but it had to submit to the plans of God for my life.

Was I happy? Not really.

Did I feel victorious, like I conquered the ‘itch’ to spend money? No.

Did I obey the voice of the Spirit leading me in truth and purpose? Yes.

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

