{6 Days To An Organized Home: Day 2, Dining Room}


6 DAYS TO AN ORGANIZED HOME LOGO

*****To get a head start on your cleaning, click below for our full cleaning list*****

{Full House Cleaning List}

{DINING ROOM}

You came back and boy am I glad you did!!!!

Our {6 Days To An Organized Home} challenge has begun and we are on a roll! I don’t know about you, but I feel great now that my kitchen has been totally cleaned out. If you missed yesterday’s post, simply click {here} to get your {Kitchen Cleaning List}

My Cleaning List:

  • Kitchen
  • Dining Room
  • Living Room
  • Sun-room/ Mudroom
  • Linen Closet/Bathroom
  • Bedrooms

There’s something about cleaning out every drawer and cabinet that makes the air feel less thick and quite honestly, it gets me excited about going around the house de-cluttering, organizing and deep cleaning!

So are you ready? We are off to the dining room. Now, I will confess: I might do you a disservice with this room because my dining room is quite empty. I have my dining room table and a buffet, but that’s about it. Since we moved back home after our house fire October 2010, we really have not done much with this room. Not because I don’t want to, but because I’m just stuck with it. I’m all out of ideas.

Cleaning this room will be quite easy for me. However, I will try to make the cleaning list a little broader than what mine would be. I hope it helps.

So what’s the point?

The Dining Room should be the heart of your home. It’s where your family comes together, after a long and chaotic day and sits down to enjoy a refresh and renew themselves over a meal, conversations, and laughs. That’s why this is so important to me. Although I have not figured out what to do with this room (when it comes to decorating), we do sit and eat our dinners together daily. My goal this year is to make this room more warm and inviting, both for my family and future dinner guests…(Yeah, we’ll talk about that later. Ya’ll know my trauma with dinner guests!!!).

Doing our full cleaning will give me a blank slate to work on.

So here we go with Day 2..

{Dining Room}

Toss and Purge:

  • Broken dishes and glassware.
  • Badly stained linens and napkins.
  • Broken or chipped serving trays, platters, etc.
  • Broken, chipped or worn candles/ candle holders.

Donate:

  • Linens and napkins that are in good condition but you simply do not use.
  • Duplicate items you rarely use.
  • Candle holders you don’t use.

Sort and Organize:

  • Sort like items (linens, napkins, silverware and dinnerware).
  • After wiping down drawers and cabinets, organize your sorted items.

Walls and Windows:

  • Wipe down walls.
  • Wipe down baseboards.
  • Wash windows.
  • Wipe down window sills.
  • Wipe down blinds.
  • Wash curtains.

Dusting and Wiping:

  • Dust table.
  • Wipe down chairs.
  • Dust buffet or serving tables.
  • Dust lampshades.
  • Dust all decorating items including wall decor.
  • Clean mirrors and glass.
  • Clear paperwork, mail, books, magazines, etc. (Create a {Mail Station})
  • Dust/Wipe Light Fixtures/Ceiling Fans.

Floors:

  • Sweep floors.
  • Vacuum rugs/carpet.
  • Mop floors.

Now It’s Your Turn!!

Alright so there you have it. The Dining Room cleaning and organizing list has been broken down as best I could. Now it’s your turn to go out there and get to work! I know it seems like an overwhelming task, that’s why I’ve broken it down into sections. Take out your pencil if you have to then start checking off as you go. Put on some jams in the background (pray for strength, {smile}) and then get to work.

I Want To Hear From You…

Don’t forget to stop by and share with me how your cleaning and organizing is going. Leave me your comments, your emails, even your pictures. I want to hear from you!!!

Posted on January 3, 2012, in CLEANING, DIY, HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, ORGANIZING and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

