{End Of The Year Makeover: Day 7, Taking Care of You}


Last week, I asked you to join me this last week of 2011 as we:

{Day 7}

It’s Day 7 and I am excited about this part of our {End Of The Year Makeover}!!

If you know anything about me, it’s that I love to assess myself. Some people ignore it. Others simply rather not go there. I, however, relish the task of seeing where I was, where I’m at, and where I’m going. I love to face the ugly and then tackle it.

It wasn’t always like that. But then I hit 30 and I realized that procrastination and denial would be my downfall if I allowed them to be.

And here we are, 2011 soon will be behind us and 2012 awaits, ready to surprise us, ready to take us to levels we’ve never been to, ready to take us on the most amazing journey of our lives…..

What? You don’t believe that?

Why not?

What is stopping you from living a fulfilled life in Christ? What is getting in the way of you being the ‘you’  God created you to be?

For me, it was me who got in the way. It was my own pain, hurt, bitterness, anger, selfishness, arrogance, pride, procrastination, laziness…. I could go on and on, but really, what’s the point? You know what I’m talking about. You know the weaknesses and issues you deal with each day. They are very similar to mine.

Each morning you have to deal with YOU!!!!

So what if I told you that you don’t have to dread looking in the mirror? What if I told you that you don’t have to dread your life and the person you are?

Here’s How It Worked For Me…

  • Stop the whining. Did you know that throwing pity parties over your past is simply delaying you from getting on with your future? It is!
  • Stop blaming others for where you are. I understand that people may have hurt you. I understand that people may have left you, rejected you, used you, and abused you. I understand (first hand) the pain and trauma that causes. But I also understand that blaming others for where we fail and the choices we make is a trap. It robs us from the accountability we must take for our own actions. It robs us from the ability to take responsibility for our choices. Do not give your past or people in it so much power that you become immobile. Forgive and surrender these people or issues to God. Set yourself free!
  • Stop making excuses. If you want to see a change, do something about it. Stop making excuses for laziness, procrastination and lack of accountability. Simple!
  • Learn to be grateful for the season you are in. God knows what He’s doing. How He’s doing it. And when He’s doing it. Be still and know that He is God. Stop rushing the process.
  • Be here now. Stop trying to get to that place of fulfillment and purpose. Be here now. Walk in purpose today. Enjoy today. Love today. Live today!
  • Write down your goals. What do you want life to look like for you? What makes you happy? What do you like? What do you sense God calling you to?
  • Show up. Show up each morning at life. Show up and enter each day with an attitude of “Good morning world!!!! Here I am Lord. How can I serve you today!” It’s your life… show up for it!
  • Prayer. Prayer. Prayer!!! It’s foolish to think that you can change years of bad habits on your own. Prayer has been the number one source of strength and power for this life journey of mine. There’s no substitute for time with God. That relationship is the number one priority in our lives!

Taking Care Of You…

Taking care of you spiritually, mentally, emotionally, and physically will enable in your other roles in life. Take the time to {Take Care Of You} by assessing where you are right now. Have you been whining about your life? Have you been blaming others for areas where you should be taking responsibility? Have you been making excuses and living a life without gratitude? Have you been missing in action for your own life? What are your goals? Have you prayed about it?

{Especially For You}

A tool that helped me take a broad view of my life and the important things in it was my {Life Goals} spreadsheet. Click below to download my gift to you as you close 2011 with a new perspective and a new knowledge of where you are and where you are going.

{Life Goals}

Let me just say that this has been an amazing week with you all. I applaud you for your courage in taking a closer look at your life. I tip my hat off to you for deciding that you want more than what you are currently experiencing. Kudos to you for accepting that Christ is extending a personal invitation with your name on it for an ABUNDANT LIFE in Him!!!!

We are {In Pursuit}! We say goodbye to 2011 not with regrets or sorrow, but with great joy and satisfaction. We are aligned. We are in place. We are women  on a quest to live an abundant life in Christ.  And we are ready to receive all that 2012 has for us!

My friend, thank you!  Thank you for joining me here on this blog each day. Thank you for sharing your heart with me. Thank you for sharing your precious time with little ‘ol me! You have been such an encouragement this year and I thank God for you!!!!!!

Thank you for helping make 2011 one of the most amazing years in my life! You have all blessed my life in ways you don’t even know. You have all contributed to the changes that I’ve experienced this year and you all have a very special place in my heart!!!

I love you and I look forward to continuing our most amazing journey in 2012!

Blessings, Peace, and all my Love,

Darlene

Posted on December 30, 2011, in DAILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

