{Update: Christmas Baking}


Hey ya’ll,  I hope you didn’t think I forgot about you. My modem broke down after so many years of using it. I was left without access to my internet and let me just say… those were 3 very long days!!! You cannot imagine the happy dance I did when I drove up to my home and saw a most lovely brown cardboard box holding my new modem!!!!

And so, after a few days of separation anxiety from all my {In Pursuit} friends, I am back in business!

Woo hoo!

We’ve spent our time here at the {Collazo} abode getting ready for Christmas. The month of December has flown by and I am determined to squeeze out as much as I can from my days left in 2011. It’s been a phenomenal year and I want to take every single moment of every single day in. Jesus, the reason for this season, is most definitely present and I am rejoicing and basking in His presence!!!

Now here’s a look at some of this week’s {FAMILY FUN}…

DSC_0031DSC_0065DSC_0071DSC_0079

And here is “Lem” (that’s the name my daughter wants to be called now… LEM, as in Lemon Meringue from Strawberry Shortcake) getting into the flour for the 10th time after Daddy told her ‘no more flour’… see how she is in sneaky mode….. that’s her face just as she was caught {laugh}.

DSC_0034

There you have it. I wish I was a bit more creative when it comes to baking. But when you have three kids in the kitchen, the easiest way for us has been buying the Betty Crocker cookie bags. All you have to do is add your butter and egg and mix. Form your cookies and bake.

I let the kids play around with the flour and as you can see, there was way too much flour for those sugar cookies. Little Miss Baker, took one bite of her cookie and said, “ewww, I don’t like that sugar!” I laughed because the cookie did not taste at all like a sugar cookie… it was more of a flour cookie, yuck!

Lem was not so happy with the baking results…however, Dad had it all under control. While they were creating and playing with the flour and dough, Daddy was busy creating one of his masterpieces….

Peanut Butter Blossoms

peanut butter blossoms

These are our favorites during Christmas time. Simply bake your peanut butter cookies and when they are finished baking, press a Hershey Kiss into the center. Let stand and boy-oh-boy do we have a dangerous treat….yes, please pace yourself and use self-control… I warn you in advance, these cookies are DELICIOUS!!!

Something to try…

Next year we plan to get a bigger rolling-pin (as we were using Lem’s play rolling-pin to try and make sugar cookies). We will then hopefully be able to get nice sugar cookie cut outs and have an all out cookie decorating contest. I saw that idea online and I know my kids would love it.

So how about you? What have you and your family been up to? Do you have any favorite recipes, crafts, or ideas you want to share? I’d love to hear from you!

Posted on December 22, 2011, in FAMILY FUN, FAMILY LIFE, HOLIDAYS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love it Darlene! Guess what I did with my son on family night? We baked! Well we looked at the pantry and noticed the ingredients for a pumpkin pie (that was never done for Thanksgiving). So we mixed and … ahhh? We baked 4 pies !!! Man! we haven’t even finished the first one….jeje.
    Since its the season for giving, we did….

Leave a Reply

