{Plan Breakfast For A Month: $26.00}


I cannot stress enough the difference that planning meals makes in our homes. I’ve tested this out and I think I found a tool that I will play around with until I’ve got it ‘just right’! Writing out a meal plan saves me so much time and money… Here’s an example:

{Breakfast Schedule}

I sat down and made a breakfast schedule that consisted of a rotation of:

  • Pancakes
  • Lipton Noodle Soup/Egg  & Grilled Cheese (I don’t prefer this, but my husband loves it)
  • Egg Sandwich
  • French Toast
  • Scrambled Eggs and Toast
  • Omelet

This was just a quick menu I put together based on some of the breakfast items that my family has enjoyed. I plan to look for more recipes to change things up and try new things. But for this example, in order to feed my family of four for the whole month I would have to buy

{Grocery List}

  • 1 box of pancakes=  $2.00
  • pancake syrup= $2.00
  • 2 boxes Lipton Noodle Soup (2 packets in each box)= $2.56
  • 4 cartons of eggs (1 dozen and 1/2 each)-$6.40
  • 8 loaves of whole wheat bread=$12.80

That’s a total of $25.76

{Changes}

When I saw that if I take a few minutes to put a meal plan and grocery list together and feed my family breakfast for a month, it got me excited! I also felt quite guilty for all the $25’s I’ve spent carelessly. It got me excited about seeing what type of meal plan I could put together for lunch and dinner. So stay tuned. We are experiencing changes in our household and as I figure them out, I will share with you!

So how about you? Do you have any favorite breakfast ideas that you’d like to share? I would love to hear from you. And if you have any healthy ideas which would help our family on our journey towards a {Healthy Lifestyle{… even better!!!

Posted on December 15, 2011, in DAILY LIFE, HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, LIFE, ORGANIZING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Martalee Chiquito

    Dear Darlene,
    You don’t have the slightest idea how much your ideas help me and my family budget our self’s. Suzy Orman is wonderful but, let’s be real. I needed REAL budget planing. Plus the 20 minute cleaning is the BEST! I have organized,budget,clean,plan a meal,all in a day’s work. I truly love it. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you and much success. God Bless!

    • Martalee thank you so much for sharing. {In Pursuit} was birthed out of my own desire to ‘learn’ how to be the wife, mother, woman, etc. God has called me to. I desired it but I didn’t know how to make it happen. So as I learn something, I post it. Thanks for the encouragement. Keep working on it. Somedays it will be harder than others, but little by little, you will see- it becomes natural! God bless you!

  1. Pingback: {Check Your Toolbox} «

  2. Pingback: {Homemaker: « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

