{Checklist for Life: Week 8- Values, Part 1}


I hope you didn’t think I forgot about you, your family or our  Checklist for Life, book study . I was having technical difficulties this weekend which did not allow me to upload my information for the week. But without further delay…. Let’s jump into Week 8: Values, Part 1!!! I hope you’re ready because today’s lesson will be a great conversation starter and it will help us as parents get a better glimpse into the Values our children have (or don’t have).  Here we go…

{SO FAR YOU’VE TALKED ABOUT…}

Week 1- Self Acceptance= we spoke about the different issues that teens face regarding their self-image and we also reviewed how God sees us. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Verse Cards on Self Acceptance}

Week 2- Loss= we learned how to handle loss in our lives God’s way. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Verse Cards on Loss}

Week 3- Cliques= we learned about the pressure of belonging and the importance of knowing our identity and position in the Body of Christ. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Verse Cards on Cliques}

Week 4- Gossip, we talked about the importance of knowing the power in your words and how they affect others.  Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Cards on Gossip}

Week 5- Tolerance= we talked about accepting others and what it looks like to see others the way Christ sees them. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Cards on Accepting Others}

Week 6- Pride= we talked about pride and the harmful effects it has. We also talked about how God views pride. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Cards on Pride}

Week 7- Success= we talked about God’s view of success vs. our views of success. Download your Free {Scripture Memory Cards on Success.

Feel free to go back and review and download the FREE Scripture Cards for each week.

{LET’S GET STARTED}

This week topic is {Values- Choosing Friends}.

This weeks topic is being separated into Part 1 (reviewed today) and Part 2 (reviewed next week). This weeks chapter had to do with values: knowing your values so that you are not corrupted by evil company.

{READ} first things first… let’s check out God’s word. What does God’s word say about {VALUES and CHOOSING FRIENDS}?

  • 1 Corinthians 15:33
  • Proverbs 12:26
  • Psalm 1:1
  • Proverbs 27:17
  • Proverbs 27:9
  • Proverbs 27:6

Well, as you can see, God’s word has a lot to say about {Values}. Download your FREE  {Scripture Memory Cards on Values}  (<—–simply click link).

Here’s a tip: I cut these out and laminated them. I then bought loose leaf book rings at STAPLES (office supply store), punched a hole through them and now my kids can study the verses anytime without losing any of the scripture cards (especially helpful when reviewing while on the road).

{WHAT IT LOOKED LIKE FOR OUR FAMILY}

Although our intention was to finish the chapter today, we got stuck on ‘knowing your values’. I truly believe that before one can learn to ‘stay away from evil company’, one must know what their values and beliefs are.

So we began with a sheet of paper with the heading: WHAT ARE MY VIEWS ON:

Then we listed different topics like MARRIAGE/RELATIONSHIPS, EDUCATION, SUCCESS, GOD, etc.

I explained to my son that values are things we believe in, things we stand for, our morals and the beliefs we live by, our standards.

So when we talked about what his values are, his answers resulted in shrugged shoulders. I have learned that I can manipulate the conversation and get the answers I want to hear OR I can asked the Holy Spirit to lead the study and I can allow my son to think critically. I sent him to his room to think about the list we just put together and he eventually came down with his thoughts written.

{EXAMPLE}

We talked about Marriage and Relationships. Jaden’s thoughts on marriage are that marriage is between one man and one woman within God’s boundaries. He says he doesn’t believe in getting divorced.

{ROUND TABLE DISCUSSION}

  • We used that to talk about scenarios that would not align with his values on Marriage, God’s way.
  • We talked about making decisions based on the convictions of his values.
  • If you don’t know what you stand for, others will lead you into their own destructive views/ways.
  • If you don’t have values you stand for, you won’t have anything to measure your decisions against.
  • Our values should derive from the precepts and laws in God’s word.
  • We went through each topic gathering a clear understanding for what his values are.

{HOMEWORK}

(pg. 52 in the book)

{NOW IT’S YOUR TURN}

I enjoyed this chapter very much. However, I must be honest with you. We don’t jump into these chapters with full cooperation each week. As a parent, when this happens, it can be quite discouraging. I put my heart into teaching my kids and there are days when understandably, they are not ‘into it’.

My recommendation on these days is to take a moment and pray. Ask the Lord to give you the energy, enthusiasm, motivation, grace, love and wisdom to help you get the study going. Then pray for your child and ask God to give them a teachable and receptive heart. Believe me— prayer works!!!

{I WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU}

Send me your comments and let me know how it went for you. I want to hear about it! And get ready for next week’s topic, {VALUES: Part 2}.


Posted on December 12, 2011, in CHECKLIST FOR LIFE: BOOK STUDY, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH, TEENS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

