{Teaching Kids The Act of Giving}


I was so excited to find out this morning that I was not too late to participate in Operation Christmas Child. Our church participated in this awesome program. When my kids gave me the form, I was in a rush and put it away without really paying mind to it. I was so disappointed when I picked up the form at home a few weeks later only to find out that the National Collection Week was November 14th- 21st.

That’s when my search began. I pulled up the Samaritan’s Purse website and began to look around and I found some wonderful news!!!!

See below or click {here} to be directed to their website:

It’s not too late to pack shoe box gifts this year!

You can drop your boxes off at any of the following locations until Dec. 10th.

Atlanta
665 Raco Drive NW, Suite C
Lawrenceville, GA 30045

Charlotte
7100 Forest Point Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28217

Denver
16303 E. 32nd Ave, Building 7
Aurora, CO 80011

Minneapolis
2360 Pilot Knob Road, Suite D
Mendota Heights, MN 55120

Orange County
1062 McGaw Avenue
Irvine CA 92614

Boxes can be dropped off or shipped year-round to:
Operation Christmas Child Headquarters
801 Bamboo Road
Boone, NC 28607

Why is this great news? Well, because last night in our mid-week study, our Pastor gave an awesome lesson about giving. I was reminded of God’s love and faithfulness poured out to us as we surrender our hearts to Him. How we handle our finances is a clear indication of where our hearts are. It is with God’s word in mind that I desire to teach my children the gift of generosity. God loves a cheerful giver and our children will not learn this lest we teach them and demonstrate this.

So, I’m already asking the Lord for ideas on how to be a blessing this season. And I think I will begin with teaching my daughter to fill up a shoe box so that a child in a different country could enjoy the gift of Christmas!

{NOW IT’S YOUR TURN}

I wanted to share this awesome opportunity with you because I know that as parents we can easily get distracted from the things that truly matter. Stopping to recognize the reason for the season…. Jesus Christ, will help us get our focus off of us and onto others. So it’s your turn. What ideas or traditions do you have to help teach your children the act of giving and generosity? Send in your ideas for a chance to be our featured guest!

{In Pursuit} is not about me and my ideas. It’s a place where we can learn from each other. So stop on by… I’d love to hear from you!!!

Posted on December 1, 2011, in FAMILY FUN, FAMILY LIFE, HOLIDAYS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

