{Week 3: Testimony, $10,000 and a car!}


It’s Monday….And I know you are probably tired of hearing me say this but, I LOVE MONDAYS!!!!!

Mondays remind me that we are starting over. We have a blank slate. I filled myself up with God’s Word and promises on Sunday and Monday gives me a brand new opportunity to walk in that Word. I don’t know about you…but, THAT’S something to be happy about!

We are currently on week 3 of Crown’s Biblical Financial Study. We haven’t moved from {Week 3: Debt} because there is simply so much to cover in this area. But I promise you, as soon as I give it all to you, we will move  on to {Week 4: Counsel – A wise person seeks advice}. Let me give you just a little teaser:

“The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but a wise man is he who listens to counsel, (Proverbs 12:15)”.

I know you are itching to get to Week 4, but for now let’s just stick around here a little longer. I mean really- look how far you’ve already come…

{SO FAR}

{NOW WHAT?}

Now I want to encourage you with a small testimony. About 4 years ago, my husband and I found ourselves in about $11,000 in debt. Although I was at a job that was paying me quite well, soon enough my husband was laid off and my ‘good paying job’ just wasn’t cutting it. Our foolishness and lack of responsibility when it came to our finances resulted in monthly payments of over $300… all of it towards credit card debt. The funny thing about this debt is that we had nothing to show for it. See, when an ’emergency’ came up, we simply used the card.

Eventually, “emergency” after “emergency”, we found ourselves in what I call, “the land of despair!” How foolish we were. How I wish I had been taught what you are learning today. How I wish that I was mature enough in the Lord to understand that it all belongs to Him…. that my constant way of ‘fixing things’ was not allowing room for God’s provision.

Well, some time in April of 2008, my husband had a horrible accident while he was driving my daughter, who was going to be 1 year that month, to the sitter. A truck from a well-known oil company ran a red light and hit our Jeep Cherokee on the passenger side. Our Jeep flipped over and slid until it hit a corner pole. My husband had a concussion and had to get stitches on his forehead. My daughter was bruised by the seat belt and she laid there dangling sideways in her car-seat screaming. That year our Jeep was totaled and we had no way of getting it replaced. We were in need of a second vehicle and all of this- no fault of our own.

Our financial chaos did not give us any room to get another vehicle. What now? Well, let’s just say that the next two years were spent fighting with a company who did not want to take responsibility for the actions of their employees. It was long and it got to the point where I didn’t even want to hear about the settlement any more. During that year, my husband and I struggled to get to and from our both jobs and the sitter with one vehicle. We were so disappointed with the events that had transpired in our lives, yet God continued to be faithful.

Little did we know that He had a greater plan for our lives. We were so focused on our ‘need’ that we forgot that we have a God who is the owner of all the riches of this world! During a conversation with a friend, I found out they were selling their old car. It wasn’t a Mercedes, but it would do the job. I knew I could not afford to pay anything for a vehicle. And as we talked and joked, I said, “I will make a lay-away for the car”. She laughed and said, “ok”. This made me laugh even more and I said, “Alright, I will pay you $10 a month for it.”

Well, my friend must not have liked my payment arrangement, because she said, “oh forget it, you can just have the car”.

That’s when I stopped laughing.

“Look, I was just playing. We don’t have money for a vehicle right now. Not even a lay-away. I could never take the car.” And well, that day, God showed us that someone else’s blessing was our blessing. She (and her husband) signed the car over to us and that same week, our car situation was resolved!

As if that was not enough…. remember that $11,000 debt we were dragging on a ball and chain each month? Well, the oil company finally settled. Although our insurance coverage didn’t allow for us to receive all we were entitled to, God poured into us enough to sow back into His Kingdom, pay bills, and still have some left over.

I remember that day so clearly. We sat in front of the laptop looking at our credit card account. DUE: $10, 000 (give or take a few hundred). I thought about all that we could do with that money. But then God’s word resounded in my heart, “The borrower is servant to the lender.”

It was true, for the past 2 years, my husband and I were servants to these credit card lenders. Each month we worked and had to come back to them with our hard-earned cash. They took the money that belonged to my family, to God’s House, and to our future. Each week when we got paid, we had to bring them our paycheck. I know that seems drastic, but think about it… that’s exactly what you do each month when you choose debt.

My husband and I looked at each other and he said, “I know there is a lot we can do with this. But this is what we’ve talked about. This is what we’ve prayed about. God has provided a way out.”

And so, I clicked the “pay now”  button. I hit the “pay full balance” button, and then I hit “submit”.

One moment, we were over $10,000 in debt. The next moment, by God’s grace, we were debt free. Except for our mortgage, we were free from our lenders. It was insane. It was amazing. It was a dream come true!

And so- I share this testimony to build up your faith. The God who saw us taking small, very small, steps towards {Debt Freedom} showed up. He showed up and made a way when we had no way of clearing debt. He showed up and took from us a load that was wearing us out monthly. He showed up and did what He does best! He is owner of it all. He is able. He is our provider.

And to Him belongs all the glory! All the honor! and all the praise!

{MEMORY VERSE FOR THIS WEEK}

We are still working on the same memory verse:

“Just as the rich rule the poor, so the borrower is servant to the lender” (Proverbs 22:7, TLB).

Memorize it and continue to remind yourself why you are doing what you’re doing. Remind yourself of what God desires for your life: FREEDOM!

{HOMEWORK}

This week, I want you to take to the Lord all the papers you’ve prepared during our study. As a matter of fact, if you have a binder, I recommend you punch holes in the papers and stick them in a binder. You should have your budget, your spending plan, your debt list, your quit claim deed, and more.

I challenge you to present your finances to the Lord. I challenge you to show God the steps you are taking and the steps you plan to take. Not that He doesn’t already know them, but simply as an act of submission. Why? Because I want you to submit those plans to Him. I want you to submit to him your dreams and your desires of being debt free. And then, I want you to believe for God’s faithfulness to you on this journey.

It may not happen for you like it happened for me. But rest assured, God will show up!

{SHARE}

Please stop by and share your own testimony of God’s faithfulness in your life!

Don’t forget to stop by and let me know how it’s going for you? Are you excited? Are you overwhelmed? Are you on your own journey to {Financial Freedom}? I would love to hear from you!

Posted on November 28, 2011, in BUDGETING, FINANCES, FINANCIAL FREEDOM, LIFE LESSONS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

