{Thanksgiving Meal: Success}


No, this is not a pic of my Thanksgiving day meal.

I don’t know about you, but I had me a wonderful Thanksgiving Day. If you know anything at all about me, you’d know that I am terrified to cook for people. Remember that ‘fear of food’ I used to have? Well, this year was the same as any other. My mother was going to cook her amazing turkey and well, dinner was going to be at her house.

However, since I am {In Pursuit} of God’s best for my life, I decided that I was determined to learn how to do this ‘Thanksgiving Day Meal’ thing. Oh yeah, but it was only for me, my¬† husband and our 4-year-old daughter…. I’m okay with a 4-year-old critic. My ego doesn’t get hit too bad if she makes a complaint {smile}.

When I was almost done with the meal which consisted of a Turkey, yellow rice with gandules (pigeon peas), corn, mashed potatoes, gravy, dinner rolls and my momma’s famous stuffing (ground beef with mashed green plantains! Yum, yum, yum), I received a phone call from my sister.

“What time will you be heading to mom’s house?”

That’s when I explained that I was cooking early and that in the evening I’d be going to mom’s house. Well, let’s just say that things changed and my 2 sisters and nephew ended up at my house for an early Thanksgiving day meal. The pressure was on. My food was almost finished and now I had some extra critics at the house.

Did I mention that I don’t host dinner parties or any parties for that matter? ’cause I don’t!!

But either way, I grabbed whatever serving plates I could find. I filled up our table, and we all sat down and said grace. I did a quick silent prayer, “Lord, PLEASE let this be good!!!!” Then I took the first bite and held my breath while everyone took their first bite as well.

That’s when it happened. That’s when my day took a huge turn and Thanksgiving meal, or dinner time as I knew it, changed. They began to eat and they loved it! They couldn’t take another bite without first letting me know how delicious it was. Perhaps they were faking it, ‘ya know, trying to make me feel good or something. But that’s alright. By the looks on their faces and their raving comments, I was sure that God had shown up in my kitchen that morning!

Dinner was a success! And you know, I experienced something that I don’t experience often because of my fear of cooking for others…. I experienced the blessing that comes from fellowship, laughter, and serving the ones that I love. Yes indeed! It was most definitely a successful Thanksgiving day meal.

Later on in the evening we headed off to my mother’s house and, of course, her food was delicious as well. We had so much fun and laughter. I left home that night on a high. Life was good. I was so filled with joy and love. And I was so thankful for God’s blessings over my life.

I sat in the car and quietly did another silent prayer, “Lord, I thank you for the peace that I feel tonight. Thank you for the joy and the abundance of love You have poured out over me today. Life truly is good. I am truly blessed!”

Then I inhaled deeply, soaking it all in, and I finished my silent prayer, “Lord, the next time that I encounter a difficult situation in my life… the next time that the ‘next hard thing’ comes along, remind me of the abundance that I experience on days like these. Don’t ever let me forget the goodness, love, peace, and joy of these days!”. I exhaled and I enjoyed the silent ride back home.

It surely was a day of blessings. It surely was an amazing Thanksgiving day!

Posted on November 26, 2011, in HOLIDAYS. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome! Now you know I’m next in line…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

