{Healthy Lifestyle: Action Plan For The Holidays}


I don’t know about you, but I love me some of my momma’s Thanksgiving turkey and homemade stuffing made out of ground beef and green plantains… yum…. just thinking about it makes me smile! And how about those Kiffles… the ones with the raspberry or walnut filling…. MY FAVORITE!!!!

So what’s a girl to do?

{SELF ASSESSMENT TIME}

  • Well, for starters. I have to keep my goal of a {Healthy Lifestyle} at the forefront of my mind.
  • Why am I choosing this lifestyle?

    Photo showing some of the aspects of a traditi...

    Image via Wikipedia

  • What have I learned about myself from my past eating habits?
  • Do I want to go back to that place of depression and anxiety?
  • Do I have self-control?
  • How am I doing in the area of  ‘discipline’?

{NEXT: HOLIDAY TWEAKS}

Can I come up with any changes that will allow me to enjoy the holiday dinners and parties in a healthier way? For example. Can I trade in sodas for water to allow me an extra treat? Or is there a healthier way to make my favorite dessert or side dish? Can I use low-fat or 2% milk  and cheeses for some of my favorite recipes that require these ingredients. Use your creativity, research healthier options online. There are so many great tools available online for this specific thing.

{EXERCISE PLAN}

  • Make an exercise plan and stick to it. No excuses!!!
  • Increase your exercise time by a simple 15 minutes in preparation  for the extra calories around this time of year.

{PORTION CONTROL}

You may not be able to control what is served at a party but you can control the portions on your plate. So use good judgement!

{HOMEWORK}

Get your action plan ready for the holidays and if your daring enough, post it for the rest of us to get some ideas and inspiration.

I am so sure that doing this simple action plan will allow you to enjoy your holidays while staying committed to yourself and your goals. It will so be worth it! Remember, this is not about a dress size. There’s so much more!

Related articles

Posted on November 10, 2011, in HEALTHY LIFESTYLE, HOLIDAYS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ive learned to replace some of those high fat/calorie items for more sensible ideas when cooking and baking…
    replace oil with applesauce for baking…
    replace sourcream with plain greek yougart for receipts and topping on potatoes ect…
    I no longer use butter and margarine…I use the sprays ( I cant beleive its butter )..
    Use pepper instead of salt to add flavor..
    dressings are another danger zone area!!! I try to stick to just balsamic vinigar without the oil…
    and when eating out, I ask for condiments on the side so I can be the judge of how much to use…
    I hope these ideas can help you out!!!!

  1. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle: {Reader’sTestimony and Tips} « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

