{Preparing Your Holiday Schedule: Part 1}


Hey ya’ll…. (I’m not even Texan, but I love how that sounds…) ya’ll……………………………

I am so glad you stopped by this morning. I’m not sure if you were aware of it, but we are in November!!!!!!!!! NOVEMBER!!!!!!!! NOVEMBER!!!!!

So what does that mean for people like me who are bent towards procrastination?

Major Stress!!!

Well, that’s until this year of course. How could I be {In Pursuit} of God’s best for my life while continuing on with the same old habits? Not possible. That’s why I was so thrilled when I found two resources which pretty much say the same thing:

START NOW!

{TODAY I WILL SHARE ONE OF THESE…}

I was able to participate and listen in on a free live conference call given by Marcia Ramsland, professional organizer. Hundreds of women from all around the United States logged on for 30 minutes of “Holiday Organization”.

Normally, I don’t want to hear about the holidays until the week of Thanksgiving. However, why not do things differently in order that I might better enjoy time with friends and family? Here are some of the things I learned on the conference call.

  • November 1st each year is when you should begin your countdown holiday calendar. I know we are past November 1st, but it’s only by a few days so I am sure you can catch up in no time!
  • There are 10 weeks left from now until the first week of January.
  • Week 1: Write down your list of the people you plan on giving gifts to (also ideas for gifts) & Set up your gift wrapping station (wrapping paper, scissors, ribbons, tags, tape, etc.)
  • Week 2: Shop and Wrap for 1/3 of the people on your gift list & Buy your Christmas cards and stamps.
  • Week 3: Shop and wrap the next 2/3 of your gift list & address your Christmas cards.
  • Week 4: Thanksgiving week…..(you enjoy the week, do nothing for Christmas preparation).
  • Week 5: This is your week to finish your shopping and wrapping and to DECORATE!!!! We all love to decorate!!! (Your tree should be up by this Saturday, Dec. 3rd).
  • Week 6: Mail any packages and Christmas cards.
  • Week 7: This is the week to schedule any events you would like to host & also to begin your baking. Freeze ahead!
  • Week 8: This is the week before Christmas. Do you final preparations and Enjoy!!!
  • Week 9: Sunday of this week is Christmas. Take the time to celebrate the Messiah!!! Then it’s your free choice week to do something special.
  • Week 10: Sunday of this week is New Years. Use this week to take down your tree no later than Saturday, January 7th.  (In our family, we like to leave the tree up until after the Three Kings Day, so this works perfectly).

Marcia offers a free printable calendar as well as a list of gift giving ideas on her website, click {here} if you’d like to try organizing your holiday this year.

(I will share with you the other, more in depth, resource I found in a future post)

So how about you? How do you prepare for the holidays? I’d love to hear from you!!!

Posted on November 3, 2011, in HOLIDAYS, HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, ORGANIZING and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

