{Checklist for Life: Week 6- Admitting You’re Wrong,Pride}


Can you believe it? We are on week six of our Checklist for Life, study. For six weeks you’ve sown time, love, and wisdom into the lives of your children.  I don’t know about you, but in a world where parents don’t have time for their kids, that’s something to thank God for!!!

So let me just say, thank you! Thank you for coming along on this amazing journey of growing both as a person and as a parent. I am sure that God will honor the effort and time you’re dedicating to your family. Galatians 6:9 tells us, “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Keep this scripture at the forefront of your mind as you continue on this path of teaching your kids. It’s all worth it… and all of it, will produce a harvest which you will be able to reap in the future.

So what have we been up to around here lately?

Week 1- Self Acceptance= we spoke about the different issues that teens face regarding their self-image and we also reviewed how God sees us. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Verse Cards on Self Acceptance}

Week 2- Loss= we learned how to handle loss in our lives God’s way. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Verse Cards on Loss}

Week 3- Cliques= we learned about the pressure of belonging and the importance of knowing our identity and position in the Body of Christ. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Verse Cards on Cliques}

Week 4- Gossip, we talked about the importance of knowing the power in your words and how they affect others.  Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Cards on Gossip}

Week 5- Tolerance= we talked about accepting others and what it looks like to see others the way Christ sees them. Download your FREE {Scripture Memory Cards on Accepting Others}

Feel free to go back and review and download the FREE Scripture Cards for each week.

{LET’S GET STARTED}

Today, we started with prayer and then we jumped into this week’s topic, {Pride}.

Eeeek, nobody likes to talk about this subject. I mean- really- who wants to admit that they think they know it all and that they think their way is the best way? Would you? I think not. You don’t see too many people admitting, “oh, yeah, I’m prideful. Why I’ve been prideful for the last 17 years. I am so good at it, I sometimes even forget I’m doing it.”….Nope, we don’t hear confessions like that anymore.

I remember as a new believer, I was so passionate for Christ. I was praying and reading my bible. I couldn’t wait to get to church, and I wanted to talk about Jesus wherever I went. Is there anything wrong with that? Of course not. However, I also remember one specific time when I got on my knees and I could not think of one single thing to repent from. I had arrived to that place called——-HOLY!!! (can you hear the angels singing in the background?)

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr (that’s my impression of a car hitting the breaks and screeching).

I needed a Holy Ghost smack down and life sure gave it to me. I loved God and yes I was passionate about God. But somewhere along the way, I began to check off my ‘good works’ and the more I checked off, the more pride grew within. I didn’t know it then, and besides, I was such an immature Christian at the time, that I sincerely didn’t think I had any type of sin in my life. The problem with not recognizing that we are sinful human beings is that perfect folks don’t need a savior.

God and I laugh now when we talk about the old days and how I must have looked. Can you imagine the perfect God listening to my prayer from heaven? I thank God that He knew my heart because only His grace and mercy could save a prideful and arrogant, self-righteous sinner such as I. See, I can say that today because my song today sounds a lot different. Not one day goes by when I am not telling God how much I need him. I need him in my marriage. I need Him in my parenting. I need Him in my writing. I need Him in my serving. I need Him in my present. I need Him in my future. Plain and simple. I need God!!!!

So yeah, nobody likes to talk about {Pride} but if we don’t teach our children about it, they may repeat the same mistakes we did. If we don’t teach our kids about that ugly monster, it will creep up on them and we all know that with {Pride} comes much destruction! Let’s arm our kids (and ourselves while we’re at it) with the tools necessary to beat {Pride} on the head.

{READ} first things first… let’s check out God’s word. What does God’s word say about {PRIDE}?

  • Romans 12:16
  • Proverbs 8:6-7
  • James 3:6
  • Job 33:3
  • Proverbs 12:15
  • Proverbs 16:18 (the message)
  • Proverbs 11:2
  • Matthew 12:36-37
  • Proverbs 16:13
  • Luke 6:45
  • Proverbs 21:4
  • Proverbs 16:25

Well, as you can see, God’s word has a lot to say about {Pride}. Download your FREE  {Scripture Memory Cards on Pride}(<—–simply click link)

Here’s a tip: I cut these out and laminated them. I then bought loose leaf book rings at STAPLES (office supply store), punched a hole through them and now my kids can study the verses anytime without losing any of the scripture cards (especially helpful when reviewing while on the road).

{WHAT IT LOOKED LIKE FOR OUR FAMILY}

We discussed the difference between being proud (feeling good) about something and sinful pride which usually comes with an arrogant and egotistical attitude. Sinful pride does not like authority, and is self-righteous (blind to their own sin). A prideful person ‘is always right’.

The sad part about this is that a prideful person thinks they have no need for God or for others. I mean- who needs God when you got all the answers… right?! Foolishness, foolishness…It’s like Proverbs 12:15 says, “The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but he who heeds counsel is wise.”

Two examples of prideful men in scripture:

We also talked about Nebuchadnezzar, his unrelenting pride got him in much trouble and led to much destruction.

Hezekiah on the other hand, repented of his pride before God.

{Round table discussion}

  • Importance of communication with God (in humility we must repent of our sin)
  • Matthew 12:36-37, we will be held accountable for every idle word we speak
  • Pride always comes before a fall
  • Never be ashamed to own that you are wrong
  • We shared stories of how pride has affected our own lives
  • Moral and spiritual failure can be traced back to the problem of a prideful ego
  • The ability to admit that you’re wrong and humble yourself before God is a sign of maturity

This week’s study reminded us that God takes {Pride} so seriously. It reminded us that everything that comes out of our mouths must be pleasing to God. We will be held accountable.

We ended the discussion with prayer.

{FROM THE HEART OF MY SON}

“Pride can lead to many bad things. Having an arrogant attitude gets me a ticket.”

In our home, recently, to get our point across we started giving Jaden a ticket when he is disrespectful or disobedient. We needed an instant method for handing out consequence without leaving room for arguments and debates. So after going through the family rules in one of our family meetings, we now have a little pad where I write the date, the occurrence, and Jaden signs it. In the past when I used to give him a consequence for whatever behavior, he would challenge it and say, “oh, no that’s not what happened,” or “when did I do that?” Him signing off on what happened shows that we were both there when he stepped out of line and that he agreed to it. Sounds silly and you know, it was one of those… what else can I do to implement discipline in a way that he gets it. He calls it a ‘ticket’, like a fine {laugh}. I simply call it my proof.

Have you ever tried to tell a teenager something and they tell you that it went a whole different way… Problem solved (at least for this month).

So in our study, Jaden put two and two together. He realized that his arrogant attitude (in not being able to accept correction) would end up getting him a ‘ticket’. So we talked about that. Today it’s one of mom’s {tickets}, but if he can grasp the concept of humility now, he will be able to submit and humble himself to the discipline, correction, and leading of the Holy Spirit tomorrow.

{HOMEWORK}

(pg. 43 in the book)

List some circumstances that can trigger an always-right attitude, so you can be more careful in those situations.

{NOW IT’S YOUR TURN}

Remember, you are sowing into your children God’s truths and principles. They can either face life without the tools necessary or you can take the time to lead them and instruct them. Does this mean that they will never be prideful… I wish it did… we cannot stop them from making their own choices. But we can deposit God’s word into them so that in their own moments of testing, the Holy Spirit will be able to bring that word to remembrance. So go ahead, it’s your turn. Be the difference in the lives of your children!

{I WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU}

Send me your comments and let me know how it went for you. I want to hear about it! And get ready for next week’s topic, {SUCCESS}.

Posted on October 22, 2011, in CHECKLIST FOR LIFE: BOOK STUDY, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH, TEENS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

