{What I’ve Learned From My Accountability Partners}


We are on Day 18 of our October Exercise Challenge. What a blessing to have so many lovely ladies join me on this pursuit of mine! The exercise Challenge is open to anyone who wants to pursue a {Healthy Lifestyle}. Simply click on the link above and go through the information there.

It’s been 3 weeks since we started the challenge that would determine if we were in fact after God’s best for our lives. Making exercise a priority in our lives is more than just an “I want to look good for _____” thing. It’s more than just another diet or another thing to try out. Making exercise a part of our daily lives is about discipline. Yep, that’s right! Discipline. Many of us lack it and it’s time to submit this flesh to something other than laziness, procrastination, and Doritos.

How easy it is for us to sit for 1/2 an hour and watch television. How easy and effortless to spend hours on the laptop or on our cell. How difficult it is to invest that same kind of time into prayer, serving, and yes, exercise. I’ve learned that even when I don’t want to, I have to get on my knees. Even when I don’t want to continue praying because I have something else that needs immediate attention, I must discipline myself to spend that time with the Lord. Why? Because THAT is what needs most attention in my life… my relationship with God. And I must use what I’ve learned with prayer in other areas of my life, like exercise.

This months’ challenge has reminded me that I have the capability, strength, and power of the Holy Spirit to be disciplined.

Here are just a few things that my {Accountability Partners} have taught me along the way:

  • That words of encouragement go a long way
  • That there are others who fight some of my same battles
  • That there are others who know what it feels like to fail in this area of my life
  • That there are others who are cheering me on
  • That when I don’t ‘feel’ like it, that’s when I have to get up and do it anyway
  • To walk that extra mile
  • To get up early, even when I’m tired, and show up… because you showing up makes the difference in the life of someone else
  • That together, this journey is much more fun
  • That there are many women, just like me, out there
  • When it hurts, go at it a bit longer
  • When I’m sick, I need rest [Accountability Partners mommy, ;0)]
  • That I can push my body further than I’ve dared to
  • That women want to talk about this
  • That God is in this!

And so, with that said, to all my ladies who have made this journey so much easier, YOU ROCK!!!!! I have been greatly blessed to get to know you better and I am so sure that with God, you will be able to accomplish all that you set your mind to.

___________________________________________________________________________

{RECIPE TIME} And now, a special treat submitted by Lisa (thank you Lisa!!!!).

Here is a Chili that I make – its is good for the cold weather and its healthy!!!

Ingredients:

  • Ground Turkey meat – 97% fat free
  • dark brown kidney beans – or whatever kind is on sale
  • tomato sauce
  • diced tomatoes – I use the spicy but you can use whatever you like
  • Chili seasoning packet

To make:

  • Brown the turkey meat and drain.
  • Add all other ingredients and simmer over low heat for 15 minutes
  • Make brown rice

To serve:
I put brown rice in the bottom of a bowl and put Chili on top … yummy it is so good!
Now for those of you who want the extra calories you can add shredded cheese and sour cream! But you don’t need it because it is tasty without!
Enjoy!!!

____________________________________________________________________________

{NOW I WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU}

What have you decided to change? Have you been moving? Where are my {Accountability Partners} at, how has this Challenge been going for you? I want to hear from you!!!

Posted on October 18, 2011, in DAILY LIFE, HEALTHY LIFESTYLE, LIFE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This challenge for me has been of great blessing not only have I come across some mighty women of God .but women I can talk to freely and trust. I no longer stand ashamed of how I look because I have learned I’m not the only one out there that struggles with body image issues .believe it or not I wake up with a different purpose everyday because everyday is a different choice that I challenge myself to and drag yari to challenge with me lol . I have been blessed with every positive word I get from all you ladies and I’m taking it one day at a time. May the lord continue to bless everyone that comes across in pursuit .I am being blessed in every way possible …. And I love our sat walks lol! Be blessed everyone….. and to yari just wanna say I love u and thanks for always being there for me .

    • Jessica, we could not do this without you… I mean- you’re the one with the Body Bug, lol!!!! How else would we track all our hard work?! Let me just say, that after we do our walks and you post: Our workout burned 1081 calories or something crazy like that, I’m like “wow, had a great time and lost so many calories doing it…. sign me up for next week!!!” lol.

      I am really proud of you and Yari for all the hard work and dedication you guys have put in. Your dreams of a {Healthy Lifestyle} for you and your family are attainable!

  2. this challenge has been very challenging lol…..To wake up early when Ive worked till 11:15 n go to sleep at 1 or 2 in the morning, is not so easy n doesnt feel so good, but it all changes when I finish my workout n feel great. Having the accountability partners makes it better cuz u dont feel alone, n eventhough im probably the youngest.from the group Im also the heaviest but that doesnt make me less motivated when I receive my email, or c the post on fb it makes me get up n do something cuz im a part of this. And although i cheat at times n theres days that I dont get my workout in I dont feel guilty cuz nobody is judging me, just pushing me to be better….all the post are of encouragement, n its great to know that were a team! Jessica & I were talking about novembers challenge n we said we should try n loose 5lbs. Although a small # but its something to push us to eat healthier n b more active!

    • Yari, I am so glad you stopped by and shared!!!! And even more exciting is the fact that you ladies are already asking for a November challenge! It really has been fun! Losing 5 pounds in November.. hmm.. that’s something to think about. I really better start working on a new challenge along with new print outs! I know you can do this sister! You and I come from the same tree… we’re fighters… we will fight for what is already ours!

  1. Pingback: {Welcome to the March Health & Fitness Challenge…} « In Pursuit

  2. Pingback: {Accountability Partners}: Get ready for the March Challenge!!!! « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

