{Managing My Time: What’s the point?}


Life can get so busy sometimes! We’re always on the run to some new event, appointment, or activity. I confess that I was one to fill my (mental) calendar to capacity. I found that instead of feeling productive, the opposite occurred. I found myself feeling empty and exhausted.  I would miss important appointments and activities because I would double book days or simply ‘forget’ what had to be done. Not only was it frustrating, but it displays a lack of responsibility which I did not want associated with my name.

In his book, Ordering Your Private World, Pastor Gordon McDonald takes you through the meltdown he experienced after pushing himself beyond his limits without order and structure. He was a young pastor with a big church and if you looked at him, you would’ve thought he was quite a ‘successful’ young man. He goes on to say, “If my private world is in order, it is because I have begun to seal the “time leaks” and allocate my productive hours in light of my capabilities, my limits, and my priorities.”

There is so much good information in this book regarding time, but one of the tips that stick out to me now is his advice of sitting down quarterly with your husband or wife and looking at the months to come.

First he schedules the non-negotiables:

1st tier: private disciplines, mental disciplines, Sabbath rest, commitments to family and special friendships

2nd tier: the schedule of the main work committed to — for him it’s sermon study, writing, leadership development, and discipline.  (this is where you look at your own area of work committed to and schedule in the practices required or desired for this).”

You must know what the non-negotiables are for your family and you must schedule them in. Doing so will ensure that you don’t run out of ‘month’ without ever having attended to these. If you don’t do so, you will find that there’s always someone ready to fill in your calendar for you.

{SO WHAT?}

What happens when you live a day to day life without attending to the important matters such as spiritual discipline, family, and relationships? Eventually these areas of your life will dry up and sadly, many times they completely fall apart.

{HOW DOES IT LOOK FOR ME?}

I’ve learned that if I manage my time wisely, I can get so much done. I used to get my time in with God whenever I got a chance. I mean, as a mother of 2, who at the time had a full time job and so many demands on my time, I was lucky if I ever got anything done around here. My house was so disorganized.. in every aspect. I missed so many appointments. I was always rushing. I was always unprepared and always late! Yep, that was me.. the one running in at the last minute… to every single event and appointment in my life.

Two years ago, I learned that I must make time with God a priority in my life. So I schedule it in. If I showed you my Agenda today, you’d see that I have Him scheduled early in the morning before everyone wakes up. That doesn’t mean that I don’t get God interruptions (which I love) during the day. And it doesn’t mean that I only talk to God when I schedule it because talking to Him throughout my day is the only way I get through most of my days (you don’t know my family, lol!!). It also doesn’t mean that there I don’t have days when I’m sick or completely exhausted and so I have to change things around. However, I no longer have days that I ‘missed’ me and God time. He’s a non-negotiable!

Since then, I make it a habit to write up my {Daily Agenda}. <——-Feel free to click and find out more. Also, I really enjoy the COZI site. They offer you an online calendar which you can create and then print out. It’s what I use in our {Family Binder}. I love their cute and simplistic design. They even give you the option of color coding the members of your family so that you can look at your calendar and instantly see who is attending which event. The best part of it: It’s free!!! LOVE IT!!!

{NOW IT’S YOUR TURN}

Managing your time is just that… managing your time. It’s taking the 24 hours God has allotted to everyone and making time work for you. It’s being a good steward of the life God has given you. It’s looking at the people and things that are important to you and giving them a priority in your schedule. Managing your time is about organizing your life so that you can actually have the time to do the things you love and the things that truly matter.

It’s not about being so rigid with your schedule that you don’t allow for the surprises that come up. It’s not about being so religious about your schedule that anything that pops up throws you off balance.  It’s about being accountable for your life and then showing up and living it!

What do you have to lose but ‘wasted time’?

Disclosure: as with anything found on my site… there is no set way to do things. This is not the only tried method. Some people love their smart phone calendars. Others like their Microsoft Office Calendars, a daily planner… whatever works for you. Just take some time to think about what are the non-negotiables in your life and then put them into your calendar. Try it and let me know if you ‘gained’ any time! I’d love to hear from you!

Posted on October 14, 2011, in DAILY LIFE, HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, LIFE, ORGANIZING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

