{Organizing School Supplies and More}


There have been many times I wished I had a boat load of money so that I could go to one of those fancy-shmancy container stores and buy containers and baskets to organize the things in my home. However, choosing to be a stay at home mother has caused me to sacrifice some of those ‘I-so-need-it-right-now’ wants…. at least for now ;0)

So how does one organize the many things in a home without the proper tools to do so.

I’m going to show you some of my tricks today {yay}!!

Okay, so as you may have heard (from some of my earlier posts) I had a house fire in October of 2010. We had to quickly learn how to do without some of our old furniture and items. Let’s just say that almost everything plastic had to go. So much for all my storage bins.I used to have a closet in my bedroom that I turned into a little office area (and I so loved it) but reality is, I live in a house built in 1929… they didn’t believe in huge wardrobes back then so I had to surrender my office nook so that my husband could have more closet space.

So this is my new office, smack dab in the corner of my dining room. It’s not the most eye-appealing office space, but for now, it works. I use the dining room table to work on my laptop and next to me on my left is this:

There you have it. My home-school, home administration, and {In Pursuit} office… Can you believe I run my life out of this small space?

On the left I keep my basket which holds everything I need for my Journey to Financial Freedom posts (Crown Bible Study) and my Checklist for Life: for teens book for my {Mothering on Purpose} posts. I also keep my Bible and any books I am currently reading. My laptop bag also goes in that corner. It makes it easy when it’s time to pack up and go.

From left to right on the filing cabinets:

  • My IN/OUT papersPink Caddy for school supplies (on top)
  • My file folders: To Do, To Pay, To Decide, and one folder for each family member (will go over that in a future post)
  • My Coupon Binder (it’s the white one there)
  • The {Collazo} Family Binder (the pink one)
  • Magazine Holders for Chai’annes school items
  • Round crayon holder
  • Tray for hole puncher, paper-cutter, etc.
  • And of course you can’t miss my printer on a box on the right (some day soon I will figure out where to put a desk and my printer will finally have a home, yay!)

{Okay so let’s look a little closer…}

This is where I used to dump all the school supplies: pencils, markers, glue, scissors. As you can see, it’s just a wire holder. It made finding things very difficult!

{Look at the difference $1 made…….}I picked up this pink caddy at the Dollar Tree where we live. I love it!!! And I love the price tag even more: 1 Dollar!!!

{Would you believe all  I fit into this caddy?}

Word flashcards, 3 boxes of animal flashcards, Counting Flashcards, 2 glue sticks, 1 glue, numerous markers and pencils, 1 writing pencil, 1 pencil sharpener, 2 tapes, 2 scissors, 1 alphabet/numbers dry erase board, 1 white dry erase board, 1 dry erase marker, and a sponge for the dry erase board.I love it!! I still can’t believe I fit so much in this little caddy!!!

The best part is that I don’t have to shuffle through the drawer anymore. Everything I need for {School Time} is visible and easily accessible.

{Other organizing goodies!}

Okay, back to my office space….  so did you noticed the amazing print on the magazine holder, crayon holder and tray? I love, love, love it!!!

Would you believe me if I told you that those magazine holders were made out of Cereal Boxes???? The Crayon Holder was a Coffee Container!! And the tray was made from the top of a box!!! I found that amazing print at the Dollar Store. It’s wrapping paper Eventually I will add some cool labels. I’m just not ready to add anything else to them now. They are simply delightful to look at, don’t you think?!

Okay so there you have it! That’s how I organize my office/school/ home supplies on a budget. Eventually, when I do create a space with a desk, I will coordinate my items better. But for now, I am content with having it all together in one place and looking at my oh so beautiful print (the magazine holders, crayon holder, and tray!).

Can you believe I managed to make those very necessary changes for $2.00? I know, I know! I even shock myself sometimes!

P.S. I will teach you how I turned Cereal Boxes into these cool magazine holders in a future post. Stay tuned!!!

Okay so now it’s your turn… What inexpensive ideas have you used to organize your home? I’d love to hear from you. Who knows, we may even post your wonderful ideas here on {In Pursuit}!!

Posted on October 12, 2011, in HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, ORGANIZING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. i use the cereal boxes too but i haven’t wrapped mine yet.

    • I saw a tutorial of a woman doing this with UPS boxes. She got alot of slack for it on her blog because they said that you’re not supposed to use UPS boxes for anything other than mailing purposes. She went on to explain that she only uses ups boxes that were already used. That’s when they made the suggestion of Cereal Boxes. One thing I noticed while doing this is that it has to be the Family Size cereal boxes otherwise when you try to put your papers in, they wont fit (in the smaller boxes).

  1. Pingback: {Organizing on a Budget} « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

