{Making Healthy Food Choices }


This image shows a display of healthy foods on...

Making good food choices begins with you!

I was at the public library recently and they had books for sale. I snagged an awesome find, “Healthy Family Meals: 150 recipes everyone will love (American Heart Association).” The best part was that I only paid, 25 cents for it!!! Now that’s a bargain!!!

I love me some Chicken Tortilla soup from Jack Creeks; They are simply irresistible! Well, what if I told you that you can make your own Chicken Tortilla soup at home. Have I got a treat for you! The American Heart Association actually provides a healthy version of this soup, simply click {here}.

Enjoy and let us know how you liked it!

So, what’s the point of posting a Healthy Recipe for a great soup if you can just go to Jack Creek and get one that you know you’ll love… well- it’s simple: You are on {A Healthy Lifestyle} pursuit!

Why? Because you want to treat your body with the respect and care it deserves! You’re body is the temple of God. Don’t believe me? Read it for yourself:

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

“19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.”

That’s right! You do not belong to yourself. You belong to God. It is our responsibility to honor God with our bodies. Ouch!!! I, for one, can say with much regret, that I have not held this part of God’s word up in my own life. I have allowed food to rule over my life rather than use food as the fuel for my body that it was meant to be. I have been the one guilty of ‘honoring’ God with other areas of my life… yet when it came to my body and taking care of it… that was a whole other story!

Could we really be ‘honoring’ God in tid-bits? The older I get in the Lord, the more I understand that God looks at me as a whole. I can’t give one part of me to him and hold on to another- Kind of like the rich young man who wanted to follow Jesus while holding onto his very heavy money bag.

Mark 10:17-22 (NIV)

17As Jesus started on his way, a man ran up to him and fell on his knees before him. “Good teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit eternal life?”

18 “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone. 19 You know the commandments: ‘You shall not murder, you shall not commit adultery, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, you shall not defraud, honor your father and mother.’[a]

20 “Teacher,” he declared, “all these I have kept since I was a boy.”

21 Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” he said. “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

22 At this the man’s face fell. He went away sad, because he had great wealth.

Sound familiar? I know this story talks about money and not food. But either way, what matters is the heart condition. What are we holding onto that doesn’t allow us to move forward in our pursuit of {A Healthy Lifestyle}? Whether it be our huge saving account or our huge piece of dessert, if we hold onto it as though we can’t live our lives without it, we’ve actually raised these things up as idols in our lives.

I know, I know- no one wants to hear all this. You didn’t come here today to be preached at… and believe me, that’s the last thing I want to do here. Simply put, while you are on the {October Exercise Challenge}, I want you to begin thinking about food itself. I want you to think about what type of habits you’ve formed over the years and what reasons are attached to those habits.

For some it may be loneliness, boredom, lack of education regarding nutrition… whatever it is, let’s start thinking about it. Then let’s re-educate ourselves. My first recommendation is:

Begin with prayer. Nothing you do can be successful without Jesus. Take it all to him first.

Then let’s look at the 10 Steps to Healthy Food Choices found in the “Healthy Family Meals: 150 recipes everyone will love (American Heart Association)” recipe book.

  1. Eat a variety of VEGETABLES and FRUITS daily.
  2. Eat WHOLE GRAINS rather than refined grain products as often as possible.
  3. Include FAT-FREE OR LOW-FAT DIARY products daily.
  4. Eat FISH at least twice a week.
  5. Eat lean POULTRY and MEATS.
  6. Include LEGUMES, NUTS, and SEEDS in your diet.
  7. Use liquid vegetable OILS and soft margarine. (I thought I would include their full response to this one because this one confused me a bit. I thought butter was better than margarine, but they say, “vegetable oils such as olive and canola, provide heart-healthy unsaturated fats. When you can’t use an oil, use fat-free spray margarine or the light spreads that are lowest in saturated and trans fats. Avoid butter and stick margarine, ,and limit cakes, cookies, crackers, and other commercial product made with partially hydrogenated or saturated fats.”)
  8. Cut back on SODIUM.
  9. Cut back on added SUGAR.
  10. Cut back on foods high in dietary CHOLESTEROL.

For more information on any of these, feel free to check out the American Heart Association website.

{NOW WHAT}

Realistically, which of these ten steps can you incorporate into your weekly menus? Even if you started with just one, let’s say- eating fruits and vegetables daily- that is one great decision to be proud of! Why not start here. Begin replacing some of your usual menu items with some of the items found on this list.

Could you maybe serve more vegetables with your dinner? How about cooking with olive oils? Or maybe you can cut back on sugar in some of your recipes and try using honey or other natural sweeteners.

What choices will you make today? I want to hear from you! Let me know what changes you will be making, even if it’s one… it’s a start towards living {A Healthy Lifestyle}!

Posted on October 4, 2011, in DAILY LIFE, HEALTHY LIFESTYLE, LIFE and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. So Girls I’m starting my new health kick this week Monday. I’m excited because I’ve been longing to get this started and didn’t know how. Reading everyone else posts I’m motivated to get this started. I need to lose about 25 lbs. I have no problem in changing my eating habits that is the easy part for me I guess. Where I come across some difficulties is getting my 30-45 minutes of exercise. I’m going to give you guys a run down of my weekly schedule and maybe you can guys can help me in figuring this one out. Thanks!!!!!

    M-F schedule:

    5:00 -6:00am- Prayer and read scripture
    6:00-7:00- Getting me and my son ready for work and school
    8:00-5:30pm- WORK
    Every other Monday’s I work from 10- 7pm

    Once I get out of work I go and pick my son up at my mom’s house in Bethlehem and by the time I get home is 7:00pm. Then off to feed the boys, check homework, baths and the get ready for the next day. by the time I lay down it’s around 10-10:30 at night. On the weekends I run my errands that I don’t get to do during the week. PRAISE BREAK!!!

  2. Hi Darlene, so I was at the Dr.’s office this week and as I’m waiting for her I came across this and i thought of you. The Dr. I see is a born again christian as well. She is all into living a healthy life so that she can fulfill God’s purpose healthy.

    NEW START

    N utrition: grains, vegetables, frutis, nuts

    E xercise: brisk 30 minute walk daily

    W ater: 8 to 10 glasses a day

    S unshine: 45 minutes early and later afternoon

    T emperance: moderation in all things

    A ir: fresh air, go to park, outdoors breathe deeply

    R est: 8 hrs. a day, VACATION, Sabbath

    T rust: IN GOD

  3. somethings I have changed are: I do not buy junk food to have in the house.. if Courtney wants something I just go out and get a single for her…She has adapted to eating healthy also so its not like a big deal for her…also when I get home from work Im so hungery so I head for the fridge and eat a greek yogurt…love em..14 grams of protein and away I go on to my workout!!!! My next step will be the coffee in the am but that will be a real huge sacrifice…maybe I’ll just have it on a saturday morning:))) well anyway this is great to have a place to talk with others about the same stuff we struggle with… just love this!!!! you girls are an awesome inspiration…lets keep this up:)))

  4. wow!! I love this!

  1. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle: {Reader’sTestimony and Tips} « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

