{Organizing Digital Pictures}


If you made it here today then you probably have experienced the dilemma I had last week: the “I-have-no-clue-where-that-stinkin’-photo-is-I-know-it’s-in-here-somewhere” syndrome! If you’re anything like me (and you own a digital camera) you take thousands of pictures and you simply throw them into your computer (if that!). I went to the park with my husband and kids last week and I kid you not, I took 276 pictures. How does that happen? And I’m just using a simple SAMSUNG TL205.

Imagine what will happen when I get the camera of my dreams… I’m not sure I will be able to put it down! I dream about the day when I will be able to purchase something like these delicious masterpieces…

Until then, I will try and be content with my Samsung and I will work on organizing my digital pictures. Getting a strategy down will be great preparation for the fantastical (yes, I said fantastical!) works of art I will photograph one day (hey, I can dream right?!).

Okay, so let’s get with it. I will begin by saying that this project took me hours upon hours to do (and I must confess, I still have about 2 more folders to sort through). So technically, I’m still not done with it. However, just because I’m not done with my sorting, doesn’t mean that you can’t get started on your own pictures. I know the frustration that comes from looking for one specific picture with no success. I’ve been there so many times. I honestly had no clue which pictures were where. After researching online on the best way to organize pictures, I found this to be the simplest… so let me share.

{STEP 1}

First things first. Build your picture folders by making a different folder for each year. When sorting through my pictures, the oldest one I found was one taken in 2007 (yes, it took me that long to get my first digital camera!) so I labeled folders for the following years: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, and I even got ready for next year with a 2012 folder. You see, once you start organizing, you can’t help but look to the future and how you can make it easier for yourself.

The end result will look something like this:

{STEP 2}

Once finished with STEP 1, create monthly folders within the yearly folders. Many times your computer will automatically alphabatize the names of the months so for easier storage write out a number from 01 -12 before it’s corresponding month. For example, instead of naming your folder: January, you will name it 01 January. The February folder will be named 02 February. Continue following that order. The March folder will be named 03 March.

The end result will be:

{STEP 3}

Once you do STEP 2 for all the yearly folders, you’re ready to start sorting your pictures. Most cameras have a date feature. My Samsung automatically saves my picture file with the time and date it was taken. If not, try right clicking and click on PROPERTIES. You may find the information you’re looking for there.

I began sorting through the dates and putting my pictures into their monthly and yearly folder. I then split them into the different events. For example, all pictures of my daughter’s birthday were named, “Chai’s 4th Bday”.

Tip: An easy way to rename a bunch of pictures at one time is by clicking on the first one in your pictures folder, then hitting the shift button and clicking the last picture of that event in the folder. Right click, then click RENAME. This feature will allow you to rename all pictures pertaining to one event all at the same time. I loved it! It made organizing and naming so much easier.

Depending on how organized you want your pictures, you can create multiple folders within the monthly folders for each event. So instead of opening the pictures in the folder 02 February and seeing all your pics, you can set it up so that you open up 02 February and see different folders for each event. I may do that in the future. For now, I’m just happy that I have the yearly and monthly folders and that most of my pictures have found their home.

The next step for me will be going through each folder and deleting the hundreds of pictures that I will never use. As you can see from the picture above, I have about 7 pictures there of my daughter and son and they are almost identical. There’s no need to waste so much space on my computer.

Well, there you have it {Organizing Digital Pictures}. I hope you got some ideas that will help you organize your own precious memories. Stay tuned in the near future for {Organizing Your Printed Photos}.

So what do you think? Up for this challenge? Let me know how it goes for you and let me know if you have a better or easier way of organizing your special memories. I’d love to hear from you!

Posted on September 23, 2011, in HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, ORGANIZING and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

