{Increasing Your Food IQ…}


Good morning, ya’ll!!! I hope you woke up today ready to attain things you’ve only dreamed of. I hope you woke up with an “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” attitude… if that’s NOT you, then I encourage you to take a praise break. Be reminded that God is for you! He is with you! He will lead you! And did I mention He is for you?!! Well, He is!!!

Let me share with you a beautiful verse which solidifies this:

Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers,”(3 John 1:2, NKJV)

Did you catch that? John wrote these words to one of his brothers in Christ, Gaius. However, you too can grab this verse for yourself because all scripture, we know, is inspired by God. All scripture found in the Bible has a purpose. It is God’s desire that you prosper in all things. It is His desire that you be in health. We are called to take care of our souls as we daily become more and more like Christ and with this comes the responsibility that we be in health.

We have a responsibility to take care of the body God has given us, our temple. Don’t believe me? Well, here you go. Take a closer look at the next two verses:

“19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies,” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20, NIV)

This is the way I see it- I’m on a journey (I know, I know- you already heard about it! Okay, so bear with me a moment longer). Why would I want to spend my 20’s, 30’s, 40’s pursuing God’s greatness for my life, in search of my “Promised Land” and get there dragging myself with a body which is so sick and diseased that I’m unable to truly enjoy that place of promise? The more I think of it, the more it makes me want to grab a hold of this pursuit towards a healthy lifestyle! God wants me to enjoy my blessings. He wants me to enjoy my grandchildren and possibly my great grandchildren. He wants me to be in good health that I may have the energy and vitality it takes to do the work He’s called me to do.

And I believe, my friend, that He wants the same for you!

Okay- so maybe you’re not 20 or 30 anymore. Maybe you’ve carried this burden for the last 20, 30, 40 years of your life. Now what? Is it too late for you?

I believe, with all my heart, that although there may be consequences for the foolish and harmful decisions we make, God’s grace and mercy over your life can bring a harvest to any seed you sow at any time. You can still make a life impacting decision. You can still enjoy the latter part of your life. With prayer, dedication, perseverance, and the desire to be all that God’s created you to be, you too can pursue this healthy lifestyle.

Alright, so let’s get to it. It’s time to increase your food IQ. yep- you heard me, food IQ. You cannot change what you do not understand. You cannot turn things around in your life when you don’t understand the purpose of food and its’ functionality. This weeks challenge will require that you do some research. This week I want you to find out:

  1. What are calories?
  2. What’s so important about water and how much of it should I be drinking?
  3. What’s the big deal about carbohydrates? What are they anyway?
  4. How much protein do we really need and what is the importance of it?
  5. Fats (yes, these are are actually necessary in your diet), what about them?
  6. What do I need to know about vitamins and minerals?
Sound like a lot of work? Well, great pursuits, such as this one of a healthy lifestyle require work. Simply grab your notebook and pencil, sit down for half and hour or so and see what you come up with. Don’t know where to start? Then try a search online (make sure you are using credible sources) or check with your local library for books on these topics.
I’m currently reading a book by Chantel Hobbs called, Love Food and Live Well, she does a great job of breaking some of these  questions down for us in simple ways we can understand. Chantel has an amazing story about God’s power to restore and redeem this part of anyone’s life. To find out more about her story click {here}. Once on the website, don’t forget to scroll down.
So what do you say? Will you meet me here on {In Pursuit} next week with an increased Food IQ? Will you take the time required to inform and educate yourself? You are not stuck in this unhealthy cycle for ever. You are not doomed to this life of instability. You can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens you!
And don’t forget, we are still taking our {30 minutes a day challenge} get your exercise in because aside from the muscles you’re building, you are building your discipline!
Posted on September 22, 2011, in HEALTHY LIFESTYLE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. wow! i’m speechless she hit home with the struggle issue . :/

  1. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle: {Reader’sTestimony and Tips} « In Pursuit

  2. Pingback: {I’ve Got Some Tools For You!!} « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

