{Accountability, it makes the difference!}


The Holiday weekend came and went. If you ate one too many deserts or one too many burgers, it’s okay. Just pick up where you left off and let’s keep it moving. Not sure if you can? Well then it’s time for an accountability partner…That’s the key word this week…ACCOUNTABILITY!

Today’s post was inspired by a very good friend, Lisa, who posted an awesome comment this week. In case you missed it, here it is:

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Hi Darlene,
I’m on journey as well and a very important starting point is to find a accountability partner…
Proverbs 27:17 – As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.
Ecclesiastes 4:9-10- Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his/her friend can help him/her up. But pity the person who falls and has no one to help him up!
What we should look for in a accountability partner is someone who will encourage, motivate and inspire you. Also someone who will give you a word of correction when needed! Keeps us on track…Lol! Its important to be intouch with your accountability partner everyday or atleast every other day. Receiving an encouraging voicemail or an inspiring test message can make a world of difference. With the technology today it is simple to take a few moments to do that. Hope this is a help to someone. Blessing to all.
Lisa H

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

(Thank you Lisa for giving me a great idea for today’s blog post!!!!)

If you’re anything like me, the moment I got the chocolate craving I tried my hardest to conquer it. However, the end result was always me sitting with a bag of little devils (that’s what we call chocolate covered pretzels in my house!). Okay, okay… that’s what I call chocolate pretzels!!!! I mean- really, can you blame me? They are irresistible!! The temptation for me was always stronger than my will to move towards a healthy lifestyle.

And you know what happens when you mess up right? You say, “I knew it was too good to be true. I can’t do this. I’m never going to be able to get over this (munch, munch on three more pretzels), I’m always going to fat (munch, munch) and I might as well go back and get another bag”… oh, I see, you never fell into that trap, eh? Well, hats off to ya. That’s the trap I fell into every single time. The trap that if I ate something off the goodie list then I failed and should just give up.

Well my friend, you don’t have to go at it alone. Together we can be accountable to each other. Accountable to what? Not to losing a dress size or losing a couple of pounds, but instead- accountable to your dreams, to your future, to your health, to your desire to be all that God has purposed you to be.

See, every time you get up and move (whether it be a walk, the bike, a jog, whatever….) you are being accountable to God’s best for you! Every time you make a good decision when it comes to fueling your body… you are being accountable to God’s best for you!

It’s not about depriving yourself. It’s about leaving the ‘good’ and trading it in for God’s best! So what do you say? Are you up for the challenge?

Close your eyes and imagine me standing here with my hand extended to you… you can choose to walk away and I wouldn’t hold it against you. But if you are in that place where nothing’s worked and where you really don’t see any hope in conquering this part of your life, then I extend my hand to you my friend. I understand your struggle. I understand your pain. I understand your daily battle! And because I do, I commit to praying for you daily and I commit to encouraging you along the way. So what do you say? My hand is extended to you… would you like to join me on this journey?

Accountability makes the difference!

If you say yes, then leave me a comment below or send me an email here. Then join me for this weeks’ challenge below:

Our pursuit of a healthy lifestyle requires us to move, move, move. Not only is it good for us, but it will bring results. So what do you say? Will you join me this week? Will you commit to at least 30 minutes of exercise 4-5 times this week?

side note: remember, all of this must be sealed with prayer. When you think you can’t do it, remember that you can do ALL things, even this, through Christ who strengthens you! (Philippians 4:13).

About Darlene Collazo

Daughter of the King. Wife. Mother. Writer. Encourager. Lover of words and all things creative. Fellow companion on this journey {In Pursuit} of the abundant life God has for us.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in HEALTHY LIFESTYLE and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. ok girls… this is very exciting!!! I’m with you as a matter of fact Im getting off the computer right now to excerice.. I have a bad case of bronchitis so I cant do a heavy workout today..but I am going to do something! Sick or not I have to do this! Im with you Sheila, my family has some dangerous health risks also and Im getting to that age where it can start manifesting. I refuse to just sit here and not do anything about it! Darlene Im so excited that together we can do this. All of us! No one needs to be left behind! It’s so hard when you feel along in this fight. And yes this is a fight! So lets keep each other lifted up in prayer for this specific issue and lets conquer! Lets motivate each other by writing encouragement on this blog! Love you all.
    Lisa H

  2. I love this. As you know I have had my share of battles with my weight. Though I have lost half of me it is still an issue that I deal with. Especially since in the past year I have gained 10 lbs. But honestly I think right now in my life Im at a point where its not so much as losing the extra weight but I want to start eating healthy again so that I do not reach that point in my life where I was my heaviest. The time in my life where my health was so at risk that I could have died. My family history is so full of diseases ranging from diabeties, cancer, etc. that I do not want to go through those difficulties or put my kids through them either. So what am I saying Darla..Im with you on this..oh boy here we goooo 🙂

    • Awesome!!!! I am so glad to have you join us. We’re keeping it simple for now. Get moving… I am certainly not a dietician but I know how to replace a cookie with a fruit… and a day of sitting with a zumba dance…No dietician needed for that!
      (Make sure that you check with your Dr. before starting any type of diet or rigorous exercise plan.)

      Alright, so here we go… woo hoo, I am so excited!!!

  1. Pingback: {Update} « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

