{Progress Report}


Simply comment on any one of our posts this week for a chance to win!!

You’re back and I am oh-so-glad that you are! The last time we met I shared with you my pursuit of a healthy lifestyle and my food intake and exercise diary.  Today I share with you a story that happened to me about 3 weeks ago just so that you can get a better picture of my whole Healthy Lifestyle dilemma:

My husband and I were on the road and we were hungry so we decided to get something to eat. As soon as I made my choice, fear came over me and I thought, ‘maybe we should just forget it and go home and eat something’. Although I knew that for years I’ve had a wrong view of food, it was that specific day that I realized just how great my fear of failure was. It was almost as if I felt that eating one meal out (which by the way was going to be a Chicken Caesar Salad) would be my downfall back into the bottomless pit of my unhealthy lifestyle.

I’m not sure if you realize what I’m telling you (because it can get so hard to put into words what goes on inside of me when it comes to food) but I guess what I’m trying to say is that as soon as I thought, ‘let’s get something to eat’ I was filled with the fear that eating at a restaurant would take me back to my old mess.

It’s foolish.

And so, after a few minutes of thinking about it I said, “You know hun… I’m not going back to where I came from and eating one meal at a restaurant is not going to have so much power over me. I can eat and can continue to move on this journey towards a Healthy Lifestyle. I am not going back!”

Those words cut the grip fear of food had on me. I went, I ate. And guess what? My journey towards a healthy lifestyle continued. As a matter of fact- I ate a slice of pizza yesterday with absolutely no guilt!!!! No guilt! No reprimands! No anxiety attack about my drop off the ‘healthy train’.

And so the progress report you’ve been waiting for….

After about 3 weeks or so I am proud to say that I’ve lost 13 pounds of fear off my weight.

It’s a slow process and sometimes I have to look in the mirror and say, “Girl!!!! You didn’t gain it in a day, you can’t lose it in a day!” and other days I have to fight myself to get up and move, exercise is a big part of this change. But all in all, I’m finding out that I truly can do all things in Christ. One day at a time, one step at a time. That’s all He asks of me and that’s exactly what I’m willing (and able through His grace) to give!

I’m {In Pursuit!} of a healthy lifestyle… and that doesn’t start on the exercise bike or in the kitchen making a salad. It begins with me inside. It begins with allowing God to break down year s and years of misconceptions and insecurities. It begins inside with a change of heart and a change of mind. It begins with the declaration… I will not go back!!!!

So how about you, what’s your story? What has been working for you? Or what’s keeping you from living a life of purpose and abundance (even in this area)? I’d love to hear from you.

(Remember, one lucky reader will win our very first give-a-away on {In Pursuit}. Simply leave a comment on any one of this weeks posts for a chance to win!)

About Darlene Collazo

Daughter of the King. Wife. Mother. Writer. Encourager. Lover of words and all things creative. Fellow companion on this journey {In Pursuit} of the abundant life God has for us.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in HEALTHY LIFESTYLE and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Margarita. Your pursuit of getting to know the Father deeper is exactly where it all begins! I pray that your pursuit of Him would take you to places you’ve never been before. And as He leads, don’t forget about us here on {In Pursuit}. We love to hear how God is working in the lives of women everywhere. Be blessed!

  2. I too am in pursuit of shedding a few lbs., but also to continue my journey in getting to know the father deeper!! Thank you for sharing it’s encouraging!!!

Leave a Reply

