{My Hair Concoction}


DSC_0244

This is me after a Sunday service (photograph courtesy of my 12-year old son). Look at that face…Lost all the make-up during worship. Sometimes I wonder what’s the point anyway when it comes to make-up, but that’s a story for another day.

Let’s get back to the hair. This is my hair after service. And if you know anything about the services we have, you’d know that any hair that comes out of there looking like this is amazing!!! Especially if you’re Latina, which I am!!

That’s right, ladies (and gents). This is Latina hair at its finest! Do not be deceived though. I am prone to frizz just like the best of them.

But I have to share with you my itsy-bitsy-tiny-little secret…

before I burst!!!

It’s the secret that I want to share every time I hear, “oh I just love your hair”.

It’s the secret that I want to share every time someone asks, “what shampoo do you use?”

Or the latest text message, “okay…. what’s the concoction you’re using?” (can you tell where I got my blog title from?) ;0)

And so, before this Puerto Rican girl explodes, let me just tell you the secret behind my {Hair Concoction}.

DSC_0246

Baking Soda, Water & Vinegar

whewwww. I feel so much better now that my secret is out!!!

While reading Andrea’s blog one day, I found that she used baking soda and vinegar to wash her hair. I know, I know. I thought the same thing you’re thinking right now…. WHAT??!!! That’s crazy!

I kept researching this (you’ll have to do your own research, it’s too much to write in this post) and found that many people use this and rave about the results. So, I put it on my list of things to try out. I just never got around to it.

Until I ran out of shampoo, that is.

It was one of those, ‘oh-my-goodness-this-hair-is-out-of-control-I-cannot-be-seen-like-this’ kind of days…ever had one? I knew I had to wash my hair but I didn’t want to run to the store and I thought, ‘oh what the heck, let’s try this out.’

Everyone has a different recipe. Depending on the length of their hair. How oily, dry, course, thin, etc. it is.

{But this is how I do it…}

I use the bottles above which were left over once my coffee creamer finished. They work great because they have an opening at the top which allows me to pour my concoction on my hair quite smoothly.

For shampooing:

I use about 2-3 tablespoons of baking soda, fill the container to the top with water, and shake.

For conditioner:

I use about1/4 to 1/2 cup of vinegar, fill the rest of the container with water, and shake.

That’s it!! An entire post dedicated to baking soda, vinegar, and water… hee hee. I know. So totally ridiculous, easy, and amazing!!

{The Results?}

This is my hair with ABSOLUTELY NO hair products. None. Nothing for shine. Nothing for frizz. Nothing to tame the flyaways. I did use the 1.5 inch barrel curling iron because I have layers and I like the waves. But that is it. Nothing else.

DSC_0243DSC_0242

{Cons}

Let me put it out there. If you like that soapy, lathery feeling you get from your favorite shampoo- you may not like baking soda and water. There will be no tingly, feel good suds coming from the baking soda and water.

As a matter of fact, you may not like the texture of your hair and you may not think its clean. You might even think it’s very dry.

The vinegar smell might not be so great when you’re in the shower. But stick with me for a moment.

Once you rinse your hair well and dry it, the vinegar smell disappears. And it can take about 2 weeks before you get used to managing your hair.

{Pros}

  1. I have A LOT of thick hair. In the past when I’d wash my hair, I‘d have to clean up after myself because of all the fallen hair. It was horrible. I kid you not, after using baking soda and vinegar, my hair loss has decreased dramatically.
  2. I used to wash with John Frieda’s Brunette shampoo and conditioner followed by whatever frizz control bottle I could find, and once finished blow drying, I’d have to add some more shine straight out of a bottle. I no longer use any frizz control or hair shine products. My hair looks healthier and feels stronger.
  3. Money. Money. Money. The cost to wash my hair and my daughters with this concoction brings a smile to my face each time I wash and rinse.

{disclaimer} I am only giving you the answer to the question I am often asked. I have what I call virgin-hair. I don’t dye it. I don’t get highlights. I don’t do relaxers, perms, or extensions. This is what has worked for me.  So although I am no expert on how this will affect your hair. I am an expert on how it has affected mine. I love it!

So how about you? Do you have any home made beauty secrets? I’d love to hear from you!

Posted on July 9, 2012, in DIY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

