{Teaching Kids To Clean Their Room}


Teaching children to clean up after themselves is a necessary skill. It teaches them cleanliness, organization, stewardship of their belongings, and responsibility. A little effort and patience on your part today will impact your child for the rest of their life.

Now, don’t go assuming we have it all together over here. Kids will be kids. There are times when I have to tell them to do something again and again. Other times they do things before I even tell them {those are good days!}. But most times, they do things halfway.

Some of the things we’ve tried around here are:

{Helping Children Learn Responsibility} and {Teaching Older Kids Responsibility}.

Although this has helped them to know what needs to be done, I’ve found (especially with my 5-year-old), it doesn’t motivate them to actually get the job done.

Now that we are starting to homeschool for Kindergarten, I want my daughter to understand she needs to be responsible in getting things done. To help her with this, I created a fun chart.

{How did I do it?}

DSC_0978

I simply used a pink construction paper and typed in my title:

{First Things First}

along with a verse:

“Do everything without complaining and arguing.”Phil. 2:14

I used Microsoft Office clipart for the different chores, and for durability I laminated both the pink chart and the chore pictures. I used Velcro  dots on the back of the pictures and on the board. {tip: cut the circles in half and get more for your buck!}

{How does it work?}

There are four tasks my daughter has to finish after brushing her teeth in the morning.

(She already is in the habit of brushing her teeth when she wakes up so I left that out. If you’re child is struggling with this, add it in.)

  • Get dressed
  • Make bed
  • Fold clothes
  • Put toys away

This shouldn’t take her more than 10-15 minutes to do. However, she doesn’t usually know where to start so she drags the entire process. Talk about frustrating!!

With her new chart, once she finishes getting dressed, she takes that picture and moves it to the right side.

Then she does her bed and switches the bed picture to the right side.

DSC_0982

She continues this until all the chores on the left are completed and the pictures are moved to the right hand side. This is an indicator to her that she did the job ‘all the way’.

Once her room is cleaned, her chart should look like this:

DSC_0983

I’m really excited about this chart. I think it will help to streamline our morning routine.

So how about you? How do you teach your kids to clean their rooms?

Posted on July 2, 2012, in CLEANING, DIY, FAMILY LIFE, HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, ORGANIZING, PARENTING and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Simple and effective – when I taught pre-schoolers I used this system in the classroom and they all got it straight away :)

  1. Pingback: {Teaching Kids To Clean Their Room} « {School Days}

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

