{Life Projects: Get Rid Of The Mental Clutter}


There’s something about projects left undone which cause anxiety and what I call, mind clutter. Every project left undone is a reminder of where you lack. It could be something as simple as folding the laundry and putting it away, rather than walking past a pile of clean laundry every single day. Or it could be something like finishing a paint job in your home.

True Story

My husband painted the kitchen in what I thought would be the oh-so-perfect burnt-orange color. Once he finished the last stroke of the paintbrush, I realized I totally hated it! 

One day I came into the kitchen to find a very sloppy white-colored paint job. I looked at my husband and said, “What is this? This is horrible!”

My husband’s solution to the horrible burnt-orange paint job was to go over it with primer. It didn’t really matter that we hadn’t yet selected or purchased a new can of paint. He got rid of the burnt orange color I hated. Now I just had to deal with primed walls, no paint color at all!

The new paint never went up. It wasn’t until after our house fire that the walls were finally painted.

So you see, I know what I’m talking about when it comes to undone, half done, partially finished, almost completed projects. I’ve been there. I’ve done it. And now, I’m just looking for a solution.

Getting Projects On Paper

Last Friday I shared how I was planning on {Conquering Those Projects}. I had two projects on my list: Organizing the Books and Organizing the Paper Clutter.

I started jotting down (on my {Daily Agenda & Planner}) a list of projects I want to conquer. I realized it would be good to have a designated place for these lists. So I created the {Home Projects} list which I shared with you yesterday.

While jotting down my own projects lists, I found many had nothing to do with my home. Instead, they were things I wanted to do to make my life easier, more simplified, and more organized.

Conquering Life Projects

Enter in a new addition to the {Family Binder}: The {Life Projects} list template.

Here you can jot things like:

  • Organize photographs
  • Start writing that book
  • Vacation planning
  • Filing paperwork
  • Organize home
  • Create a budget
  • Take an art class
  • Sew a new piece
  • Finish reading those books (or 5 books in my case, hee hee)
  • Write a book

The list can go on and on. {Life Projects} can be big, they can be small, and they can be anywhere in-between. They can be a ‘must-do’, a ‘wanna-do’, a ‘wish-I-could-do’.

So go ahead, download your FREE printables and get started on your {Life Projects} lists.  I hope they help you sort through the mind clutter as much as they have helped me!!

Family Binder Template, Life Projects1Family Binder Template, Life Projects2Family Binder Template, Life Projects3

Family Binder, {Life Projects Template

What kind of tasks/projects are on your {Life Projects List}? Leave me a comment below, or on my Facebook page. I would love to hear from you!

Know of someone who would benefit from this post? Go ahead and share it by hitting “Like” below or sharing it via email.

Don’t forget to subscribe by email (see top-left sidebar) to be notified when a new post goes up

Posted on May 29, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, LIFE, ORGANIZING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

