{Why Is God Nowhere To Be Found?}


For most of us, when we are deep in the trenches it can be difficult to believe God’s word when He says, “I will never leave you nor forsake you,” (Heb. 13:5, Deut. 31:6). It can be difficult to believe that a God who ‘will not leave us’ and loves us would allow us to go through imagesuch difficult things. The pain and suffering produced by our trials and testing leave us feeling alone and forsaken.

Jesus felt it at the cross when the noon sky turned dark and stayed that way until three o’clock.”Then about that time Jesus shouted,

“Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you deserted me?”” (Matthew 27:45-46).

Can you believe that the perfect Christ felt deserted by God. How is that possible?

Throughout Scripture we find men and women who felt alone. They felt like God was nowhere to be found. I bet, you too, can relate to that. I bet you’ve experienced a time in your life when you searched for God and came up empty handed.

Let’s stop there. Let’s think about that. Did God really leave us forsaken? Is that the truth?

Let me share with you how this looked for me. In 2011 I saw the power, first hand, of speaking out God’s truths. The previous year I went through some major losses in my life that left me in a severe depression. I could not see, feel, or hear God. I couldn’t even bear to read the Bible because I couldn’t  believe those truths for my life.

I felt like somehow God took His eyes off of me. Perhaps, my pain was not important enough to God. Perhaps, He didn’t care about what I was going through. I felt abandoned. I felt betrayed by life. My mind was swirling round and round with crazy thoughts. I felt angry and bitter. Worst of all, I felt like I was not allowed to grieve. Where was God when I needed Him? Why was He nowhere to be found? The anguish of my soul was unbearable.

I thank God for a husband who stood in the gap for me and for the men and women of God he’s placed over my life. I know that there was a group of people praying for me.

So what changed? How did things turn around for me?

Well, it’s  along story {you can read about it here}.

But the short of it was this: {in addition to the prayer of my loved ones} I began to speak God’s word over my life. The simple words: “God is good and He is good over my life!” began to penetrate through the lies the enemy had been speaking to me for months. Almost immediately, I went from depression to a life filled with peace and joy. How does that happen? The power of God’s word. The power of His truth! The following year, I practiced this the entire year. I would replace the lies of the enemy with God’s truth. The results? A dramatic change in my life.

Now I am determined to take what I learned in 2011 and apply it to 2012. I will never go back to a defeated life. I will never go back to a defeated mentality. I will never go back to a life of depression and anxiety.

For me, it began with simple declarations of God’s truths.

You [God] are good! You love me! You forgive me! (Psalm 86:5)

You, Lord, are forgiving and good,
abounding in love to all who call to you”

You have plans for my life! (Jeremiah 29:11)

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD,

“plans to prosper you and not to harm you,

plans to give you hope and a future.”

The moment  my trial became to heavy to carry, I would hear the whisper of the enemy barricading off the walls of my grieving soul,

“Where’s God now? What’s the point of serving a God who does not show up?”

That’s when I would pull from deep inside the reservoirs of my broken spirit and declare,

image“You are good! You are faithful! You are good over my life. You have plans for my future. The devil is a liar. Satan, you have no hold over my life. There is no room for you here. You are not welcome in my life. I cast you out. I submit every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. I am not going back. I am not going back to depression. I am not going back to a barren and fruitless life. I will see the salvation of the Lord. I receive your peace. I receive your joy. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

On and on I would go. I would give a sacrifice of praise in the middle of my brokenness until God’s truth would penetrate my grief. The enemy had no choice but to retreat and surrender to the truth of God’s word over my life.

In 2012, I will use this new understanding of the power of praise, worship and declaration. I will continue reading through God’s word looking for His promises of being ‘here’. I will memorize these passages of the Bible and I will declare them when I look around and don’t see God. This year, I will continue to declare the goodness of God {through His word}. I challenge you to do the same. I promise you , if you do, when the enemy whispers the question…”Why is God nowhere to be found?”

You will have a response ready. A truth from God’s word that will take you through whatever storm, trial, or situation life throws at you.

Here’s the thing.

You won’t know what to declare unless you spend time in God’s word. You won’t know the promises of God over your life unless you read them for yourself . Sure, you can try to repeat something you heard your Pastor declare from the pulpit. However, do you know it to be God’s truth? Until you open up your Bible and soak in His word all you will have is someone else’s arsenal. My friend, that will only get you so far!

To help you get started, click {here  and  find out about a Bible Reading Plan}.

Then stop by and let me know what truths you will be declaring in 2012. I want to hear from you!!

Posted on February 1, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

