{6 Days To An Organized Home: Day 1, Kitchen}


6-DAYS-TO-AN-ORGANIZED-HOME-LOGO_thu

*****To get a head start on your cleaning, click below for our full cleaning list*****

{Full House Cleaning List}

{LIVING ROOM}

If there is one thing that I  learned last year it is this…how I run my home impacts (in a very dramatic way) how I run the rest of my life. That’s why I am so thrilled you stopped by today.  A disorganized home = a cluttered mind. My goal this week is to get my home in order so that I can enter the new year with peace and order. I want to be ready for what’s ahead. I do not want clutter and disorganization to get in the way.

And so, if you are up for the challenge, the next few days are devoted to our homes. This is what it will look like for me…

My Cleaning List:
Kitchen
Dining Room
Living Room
Sun-room/ Mudroom
Linen Closet/Bathroom
Bedrooms

Easy enough eh?

I’ve already done my regular weekly (full) cleaning. My goal now is to go room by room and get into each nook and cranny. I guess you could say it’s more like a ‘spring cleaning’ in January {smile}! We will start with the Kitchen, then we will tackle the Dining Room, Living Room, Sun-room/ Mudroom, Bathroom, and Bedrooms.

Each day, I will post the cleaning/ organizing list. Don’t get overwhelmed. We are taking our house on- one room at a time. One small chunk at a time. If you feel like hitting more than one room at a time, go for it!!! Get your Full House Cleaning List {here}. But for this cleaning challenge, you are simply going to take on one room a day. We like to keep it simple here!

What’s the point?

Well ladies… the point is that if you don’t do it, no one else will. If you don’t care about what God has blessed you with, no one else will. If you don’t tackle things one bit at a time, it will never get done.

So why not put the laziness and procrastination to the side, roll up your sleeves, crank up the music and get to work… I assure you- the hardest part is simply choosing to start.

So here we go… DAY 1

{Kitchen}

Cabinets and Drawers:

  • Wipe down kitchen cabinets (inside and out).
  • Organize plates and cups.
  • Organize pots, pans, bake wear.
  • Throw out broken or chipped items.
  • Wipe down kitchen drawers (inside and out).
  • Clean out your junk drawer.

Counters:

  • Remove appliances you do not use daily from the counters.
  • Wipe down counters and back-splashes.
  • Clear paperwork, mail, books, magazines, etc.

Appliances:

  • Throw out old items from the fridge/freezer.
  • Wipe down fridge/freezer.
  • Remove unnecessary items from the top of the refrigerator (yes, all those empty cereal boxes!)
  • Organize items in the fridge/freezer.
  • Wipe down (or scrub if you need to) the microwave.
  • Clean stove and oven.
  • Wipe down appliances like coffee maker, toaster, toaster oven, etc.
  • Don’t forget to scrub your dish rack and sink.

Walls and Windows:

  • Wipe down walls.
  • Wipe down baseboards.
  • Wash windows.
  • Wipe down window sills.
  • Wipe down blinds.
  • Wash curtains.
  • Dust/Wipe Light Fixture/Ceiling Fans.

Floors:

  • Sweep floors.
  • Mop floors.


Now It’s Your Turn!!…

Alright so there you have it. Kitchen cleaning and organizing broken down as best I could. Now it’s your turn to go and do something about your disorder. I know it seems like an overwhelming task, that’s why I’ve broken it down into sections. Take out your pencil if you have to, then start checking off as you go. Put on some jams in the background (pray for strength, {smile}) and then get to work.

I Want To Hear From You…

Don’t forget to stop by and share with me how your cleaning and organizing is going. Leave me your comments, your emails, even your pictures. I want to hear from you!!!

Posted on January 2, 2012, in CLEANING, DIY, HOME & ORGANIZATION, HOME MANAGEMENT, ORGANIZING and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

