{Time To Reflect}


It’s Monday and it is my favorite day of the week (other than Sunday, you all know I love my worship time in the House of the Lord!). But there’s something about Mondays that causes me to think about how different life used to be.

There was a time when I dreaded Monday mornings. I mean- Saturday afternoons had not gone by and I was already dreading that Monday was lurking around the corner. Perhaps it had something to do with the life I was living. What life?

Well, it’s the life where you’re ‘trying to make it’. Who knows what that mean? It’s like you’re running and pushing and working with no real destination. Just some hope of ‘making it’ big. Although to some, a life like that seems exciting, for me it caused me to long for weekends to spend with my family, yet when weekends came the pressure of Monday mornings drudgery did not allow me to enjoy the very time I waited for each week.

The best way to describe it was that I was simply ‘existing’. I wasn’t living. I wasn’t enjoying the life God had given me. I was simply ‘existing’ within the parameters of schedules and meetings…work weeks and weekends. Wow. I can understand now why they call it the rat race. Everyone is racing, running without care of what is in front of them or what they are leaving behind. Imaginary moments of glory chased after- while real moments of glory behind you are left untouched and unnoticed.

My Mondays are a lot different now. I still get up early, but I no longer dread what the day has in store for me. To be quite honest, I look forward to a new week. Mondays are the days when we walk on the road less traveled. It’s the road where, here on {In Pursuit}, we learn what God has to say about {Financial Freedom}. We dream about D-Day (Debt-Free Day) and we not only envision our future, but we write out step by step directions on how we will get there.

You have no idea just how much I enjoy sharing my Mondays with you!

Mondays today come with a new week of learning for my children. A new week of watching my four-year old learn about the world God created. It’s exciting. It’s refreshing. It’s purposeful!

Mondays come with a new week for our {Accountability Partners} who are on a journey towards a {Healthy Lifestyle}. On Mondays you get to start all over. If you messed up last week, you simply look at your calendar and you work on today. These ladies who have joined me on this journey continue to bless my heart greatly!

You have no idea just how much I enjoy sharing my Mondays with you!

Mondays are so different now. And this Monday is quite special. Why? Because it is the Monday leading to Thanksgiving Day. I don’t know about you, but in a world which has lost so much common courtesy, where ‘thank you’ seems to be quite foreign, I have found that ingratitude has become quite a norm. How sad when we look at our own lives and notice that lack of gratitude has infiltrated our home, our attitudes, our work.

This Monday, we step aside from our weekly series {Journey to Financial Freedom} and we instead stop to reflect on the goodness of what God has done in our lives.

This Monday I purposefully choose to stop and think about all that God has done in my life: in my home, with my marriage, with my children, in my church, in all that pertains to Darlene. This Monday I begin a purposeful assignment to shatter the ropes that lack of gratitude has choked our family with.

I believe that the people of God have forgotten the meaning of Thanksgiving and that it is time to recognize that all that we are, all that we have, and all that we will ever be is because of an all Sovereign, all Powerful, all Loving, all Mighty God.

Yes! Mondays are indeed exciting for me! Mondays allow me the opportunity to come up with different ways to change things that have kept me back in the past. Mondays give me a new opportunity, with a clean slate, to implement those changes. And today, is one of those life transforming Mondays.

You have no idea just how much I enjoy sharing my Mondays with you!

{SOMETHING TO DO}

I have had a wonderful idea on my mind on how to display in our home an attitude of gratitude. I’ve shared a little project to help cultivate this in the hearts of your children (click {here} to find out more). However, there is something else that I am dreaming up of… I will share more about that in a future post. For now though, work on getting yourself a journal. A small notebook will do. And I want you to write down 5 things each day you are grateful for. Too much work for you? Just leave the notebook on your bedside table and before you turn the light off, jot a few things down.

Begin to practice the act of gratitude. I assure you that your life will be transformed.

{P.S. From my heart to yours…}

I am thankful for each one of my readers. The fact that you show up each day to find out what I have to say is quite humbling. It is because of you- my readers-  that I am here doing what I am doing. You show up and it encourages me to show up. Your comments, emails, and texts have been such an amazing encouragement to me. I am blessed to hear that you too, have begun your own journey with God. How else can a woman live if not {In Pursuit} of her God and of all that He has for her life?!

So today, I thank you! Thank you for stopping by. Thank you for staying a while. And thank you for sharing with me the great things God is doing in your lives.

I send my love, my blessings, and my prayers to all the ladies who are {In Pursuit} of God’s best!!!!

{I’D LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU!}

Do you have a cool way that you teach/demonstrate GRATITUDE in your home? I would love to hear from you! Send me your comments and emails. Perhaps your idea can be featured here on {In Pursuit}!

Posted on November 21, 2011, in DAILY LIFE, HOLIDAYS, LIFE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

