{Week 1, Journey to Financial Freedom, Part 2}


As promised last week on {Week 1, Journey to Financial Freedom, Part 1},  our study on Financial Freedom, God’s way continues….

First things first——>

YOUR MONEY COUNTS by Howard Dayton is an amazing book which will get you off to a good start. For $11.00 you can learn the basics about God’s way of handling finances.

Some of the most important things I learned from this book (which took me straight to Scripture):

  • All that I have, all of it, belongs to God.
  • God’s financial principles differ greatly from the world’s financial principles
  • If I cannot manage the riches given to me here on earth, I won’t be entrusted with the ‘true’ riches
  • How we handle money indicates the level of my relationship and trust in God

There you have it, the quick overview. I encourage you to get the book or check out your local library, they may have it as well. I share this because this was where my journey began. Reading this book opened up my eyes to so many things I had previously been blind to. Now, if you’re willing to move forward with me (and I hope you are!) then put your seat belt on because….

Here we go!!!!!

We are currently on WEEK 1 where we are greeted with the verse:

“Therefore if you have not been faithful in the use of worldly wealth, who will entrust the true riches to you?” (Luke 16:11, NAS).

Understanding that how I handle my money/possessions does matter to God is a huge eye opener. His attention to this part of my life causes me to stop and consider my ways. Am I handling my money according to God’s principles? God has ‘true’ riches that He wants to entrust to me. How I handle the wealth He places in my heads today will determine whether I can/will be trustworthy with those ‘true’ riches tomorrow. Yikes!!

So Week 1 begins with a Quit Claim Deed. It’s a contract which looks like a deed where you write down a list of the possessions  of which you will transfer ownership to the Lord. Sound silly? Well, let me just say- my husband and I signed and dated this document and although it is not a legally binding document, it did lift a huge burden off our shoulders when one by one we listed items: home, vehicle, savings account, job, etc.

1 Chronicles 29:11 (TLB) says, “Everything in the heavens and earth is yours, O Lord“. So it’s all His anyways, you see. Writing it down and really looking at our Quit Claim Deed reminded us that all that we have belongs to Him. We are held accountable for what we do with what He’s given us.

Okay- so can you say….. CAR WASH TIME!!!! Yep, if I transferred ownership of my vehicle to the Lord, then it belongs to Him. I must take care of it!

{how are you doing? too much for you in one day? okay, okay, let’s wrap this up}

{Scripture to Memorize}

“Therefore if you have not been faithful in the use of worldly wealth, who will entrust the true riches to you?” (Luke 16:11)

“Well done, good and faithful servant. You were faithful with a few things, I will put you in charge of many things; enter into the joy of your master.” (Matthew 25:21)

“No one can serve two masters, Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.” (Matthew 6:24)

Okay, so now that you’ve read some of what Scripture has to say about money and possesions, lets stop and take a look at our own lives. Here are some questions to ask yourself:

  1. Am I being faithful with the riches (money, possessions, even gifts and talents) God has given me?
  2. Am I ready to stand before God and be accountable for what I’ve done with what He’s given me?
  3. Am I truly devoted to God or is my affection leaning towards the things that I have, the things I can attain, the things that I want?

Answering these simple questions should give you a good look at the condition of your heart. Why does that matter? Well, my friend. It matters because God doesn’t need our money. He is the owner of it all. Yet He chooses to use us as His distributors of wealth here on earth. If our heart, when it comes to money and possessions, is not right, we hinder what God wants to do with us and through us. Yep! That’s right, you heard me. It’s more about the condition of the heart, than it is about your money!!!

So let’s go there this week.

Now it won’t be easy. I’m not giving you an easy way out of your mess. It took years to get to where you are today and it will take time to learn God’s principles for handling your finances. But come on- let’s get real. Who are we kidding? You gotta deal with this every single day. Why not try something different.

This week, if you are up for the challenge, after going through the questions above, I want you to try to make your own QUIT CLAIM DEED. A simple sheet of paper will do. On the top write:

On this day (fill in the date), I ____(fill in your name)____ transfer ownership of the following possessions to God:

List the possessions you are transferring ownership of…

Sign and date

See you right here next week!!! I’d love to hear from you. What’s your view on God being the owner of it all? On transferring ownership to Him? Got any ideas that will help along the way? Send us your comments and emails!

About Darlene Collazo

Daughter of the King. Wife. Mother. Writer. Encourager. Lover of words and all things creative. Fellow companion on this journey {In Pursuit} of the abundant life God has for us.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in BUDGETING, FINANCES, FINANCIAL FREEDOM, LIFE LESSONS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

